Author Topic: Rejuvenating batteries  (Read 13086 times)

Offline msknightTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • My pages
Rejuvenating batteries
« on: January 06, 2018, 08:32:12 am »
Hi Folks,

I'm a beginner with electronics and repair, but I'm attempting a project, one aspect of which is above my abilities.

The subject at hand is a portable cassette deck. Actually, at the beginning of December I didn't have any and now I've got four. It's a long story... they usually are with me.

But... they need gumstick batteries which are sealed lead acids. Presumably gel. I've read about restoration techniques for car batteries - https://www.elektormagazine.com/magazine/elektor-200109/17100 - de-sulphation they call the process ... something about feeding a 300hz pulse to reverse the chemical changes that have happened. Someone described the process as, "sketchy at best," but I've got to try.

However, like I said, I'm a beginner and I don't know how to construct a circuit that would do the job. And even then, I'll be doing it outside with some neutralisation agent to hand !!! Just in case, you know.

Can anyone lend a hand please?
If god had meant for humans to solder, she'd have given us three hands.

Offline soubitos

• Frequent Contributor
    • I sell on Tindie
Re: Rejuvenating batteries
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2018, 09:09:23 am »
If THESE batteries are dead, have very low or no voltage and dont charge forget about them... anything you might try to "save"them is not only potentially VERY dangerous but to the best of my knowledge a waste of time.....

If you need to restore the decks and bring them to life in their original vintage state, ebay and the like might be your only chance (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NOS-Aiwa-Sealed-Lead-Acid-Battery-PB-3-2V-470mAh-/371202098329 one of the first to pop out)

Otherwise, you can also replace them with lithium batteries (you will need a board like my TP4056FLEXADV)

Online tautech

• Super Contributor