Author Topic: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?  (Read 13526 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Kiriakos-GR

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Banned!
  • Posts: 3525
  • Country: gr
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
I found on Ebay the offer of a replacement screen about those Scopemeter for 135$, and the new question will be:  do they get damaged ?  and how easy is to happen ?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230416504476&viewitem=&sspagename=ADME%3AB%3AWNAFP%3AMOTORS%3A1123


 

Offline kaz911

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 817
  • Country: gb
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2011, 04:48:56 pm »
seems like quite a few of the 12x and 19x series B&W displays have the problem. I think the repair guys resets (rework) the sockets/connectors. But only if it is horizontal lines. Vertical lines require new screen. Other "normal" problems with the 19x series seem to be "dead channel A" or "dead channel B"

I have followed quite a few talks on Fluke.com and other places since I considered a Scopemeter for a while.
 

Offline Monittosan

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 146
  • Country: au
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2014, 07:06:33 am »
you can rework the LCD ribbon cable with a soldering iron on its lowest temp setting.
The challenge is getting to the vertical ribbon cable as its behind the glass :(



 

Offline all_repair

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 555
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2014, 09:09:09 am »
Be careful.  Do not use strong solution.  The ribbon is glued to the display and WD40 will sure dissolve them.  Reheating may help with some pressure, but I have not tried them myself.
 

Offline Monittosan

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 146
  • Country: au
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2014, 03:44:37 pm »
Well I was able to fix it!

The trick is creating a tip for your soldering iron to re bond the ribbon cable. I made a longer tip out of copper wire from coax cable to get under the glass and head up the ribbon on the board. Temperature of the copper tip was about 100 degrees centigrade and in the beginning you will make more lines appear before fixing any. If you still have faint lines appearing you need more heat





before



During repair
Notice the faint lines.


After


 

Offline miguelvp

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5549
  • Country: us
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2014, 02:03:17 am »
Good job,

Did you use the scope in sub zero temperatures btw? I've seen that LCD dead pixel pattern before :)
 

Offline Monittosan

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 146
  • Country: au
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2014, 12:13:28 pm »
I've purchased it second hand from the US. Originally I thought that yellowing was a blemish or something that was rubbed onto the screen?
So the LCD fails in extremely cold conditions? makes sense as to why the screen had so many lines as well! (about 18lines :S )

Is there anyway to restore those pixels?   :-/O
 

Offline dexters_lab

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1803
  • Country: gb
    • DextersLab2013
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2014, 03:11:47 pm »
interesting, i have a kurzweil synth keyboard with a similar issue with the LCD, i might try that technique!
"A common mistake people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools." - Douglas Adams
https://www.youtube.com/user/DextersLab2013
http://dexterslab2013.blogspot.co.uk/
 

Offline Monittosan

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 146
  • Country: au
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2014, 01:29:17 am »
Post your findings!
 

Offline zoiasso

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: br
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2019, 10:34:56 pm »
I bought here in Brazil a fluke 123 without display (for repair)

Searching for displays for fluke 123 i found this https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10.5.w4002-2339678517.20.SZvF5r&id=38243727275&spm=a1z10.5.w4002-2339678517.20.SZvF5r

its a chinese lcd, its smaller than the original.

I bought it today 03/05/2019, when it arrive in the next month, i will try to make a video, maybe it helps some people.

On Brazil the price of the display "new" is 3.300 BRL (1k dolar~). I paid 150 BRL (less than 50 dollar) for the fluke 123 for repair, just to clearify why i did that.
 

Offline zoiasso

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: br
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2019, 02:19:55 am »
product out of stock =/
 

Offline Rriis

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: dk
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2019, 02:05:03 pm »
Hi Zoiasso

Was the chinese LCD out of stock?

Did you figure something out? I need a new LCD aswell.
 

Offline rvalente

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 156
  • Country: br
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2019, 02:36:40 pm »
Off topic: do you guys like the use and feel of these equipment? Used a few times for diagnosing dc motors convertes, what a terrible experience. The screen refresh rate is horrible, the waveform does not looks like a waveform, but an abstract work of art in chunky pixels....

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

 

Offline zoiasso

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: br
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #13 on: September 19, 2019, 09:48:57 am »
Off topic: do you guys like the use and feel of these equipment? Used a few times for diagnosing dc motors convertes, what a terrible experience. The screen refresh rate is horrible, the waveform does not looks like a waveform, but an abstract work of art in chunky pixels....

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
y it was out of stock, the scope still sitting here. Im a newb in electronics i wanted to know if there's any way to adapt any kind of display into this fluke 123, but i have no idea from where to start to study this xd.
 

Offline zoiasso

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: br
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #14 on: September 19, 2019, 09:50:48 am »
Off topic: do you guys like the use and feel of these equipment? Used a few times for diagnosing dc motors convertes, what a terrible experience. The screen refresh rate is horrible, the waveform does not looks like a waveform, but an abstract work of art in chunky pixels....

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
y it was out of stock, the scope still sitting here. Im a newb in electronics i wanted to know if there's any way to adapt any kind of display into this fluke 123, but i have no idea from where to start to study this xd.
i never used it, i got it for R$ 100,00 without a display, i think it is working. i use a bench hantek DSO1502p, but i still want to find a display for the fluke123
 

Offline mansaxel

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • Country: se
  • SA0XLR
    • My very static home page
Re: Repair for Fluke 123, 124, 125 Scopemeter LCD Display .. what ?
« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2019, 06:59:07 am »
Off topic: do you guys like the use and feel of these equipment? Used a few times for diagnosing dc motors convertes, what a terrible experience. The screen refresh rate is horrible, the waveform does not looks like a waveform, but an abstract work of art in chunky pixels....

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Yes, I've got one literally since it came out. Got it as a gift on the release party (where dealers got to see it in the flesh for the first time) because I was working with sound, video and lights on the show.

No, it is not a full-fledged scope, but it is very useful for LF work and as an added confidence on top of the DMM.  And that was its stated purpose!  They wanted to build a graphing multimeter for a 200lb gorilla poking about in power circuitry, and there it performs splendidly. For starters, it is isolated. No worries where you put your probe or ground clip, you won't create a circuit to anything strange like you would with a normal scope.


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf