Author Topic: Repair of an old high power switching lab power supply (Horizon Titan DTPS6012)  (Read 1295 times)

Offline toli

• Frequent Contributor
Hi All,

Finally got my new work bench ready, so I can jump right to the action. I've recently picked up a cheap (and faulty) adjustable power supply. I don't know its exact age, but without a doubt over 20 years old. It a fairly capable unit with a dual 60V 12A output. With such a high power output, you've guessed right, its a switching power supply. Seeing as I have limited experience with similar supplies, figured I'd share here on the forum and ask for the help/guidance of people more experienced with similar circuits.

The problem I'm seeing with this unit, is that right after power up the voltage on channel A start slowly rising (as in 5-10V per second), when it reaches about 10% over the maximum rated voltage of 60V, the unit enters protection mode and shuts off the main part (front panel display is still active as its powered independently). I tried loading it to see what happens then - when loaded with >0.1A it behaves well and the voltage/current limits can be set and are within ~2% of the value read by my DMM. The second channel seems to behave just fine, but its also turned off when the first enters protection mode.

I've had a quick look inside (see pictures attached below) to see if there is something obvious (perhaps minimum load resistors that has gone wrong). I see a couple of 120R power resistors which are connected to the outputs, but they both measure as 120R so they aren't to blame. Other than that I haven't really measured anything just yet. Visual inspection didn't reveal any obvious suspects yet (unless you see something in the pictures which I've missed :)).
While at it I took a few pictures of the working boards too, just as a mini tear-down in case its of any interest to anyone.