Author Topic: (Need help) repairing a faulty Velleman PS3005D (Korad KA3005P) power supply  (Read 14514 times)

Offline henkenTopic starter

• Contributor
Hello,

I have a Velleman branded equivalent of the Korad KA3005P power supply, which isn't performing to spec (30V, 5A). Also, I am a beginner when it comes to servicing and troubleshooting electronics. This power supply has only seen very limited use, and usually at the low end of both voltage and current.

With no load attached, the maximum voltage I can get on the output is ~18.3V, not nearly the rated 30V. At settings above this, there is no change on the output. As for current capability, it reaches the rated 5A, at least when tested at lower voltages. I don't believe the unit had this problem back when it was purchased, since I have a weak memory of testing it out at the specified limits a couple years ago.

Seemingly broken:
- Voltage regulation up to 30V.

The following things appear to work fine:
- Voltage measurement and display (tested with external multimeter)
- Current measurement and display (tested with external multimeter)
- Voltage limit (CV), regulation seems spot on until ~18.3V.

Possibly not working fine:
- Current limit (CC). For example, when set to a maximum output current of 20mA, it often delivers only 15mA, even though there is voltage headroom (calibration issue?). I don't know if this is normal.

Tools available:
- Multimeter
- Digital oscilloscope
- Small home made constant current load

Schematics (provided by forum member pomonabill221 in this thread: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/korad-ka3005p-power-supply-calibration/30/:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/korad-ka3005p-power-supply-calibration/?action=dlattach;attach=77401
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/korad-ka3005p-power-supply-calibration/?action=dlattach;attach=77402

I have done a cursory inspection of the PCBs of the power supply, and haven't found anything obviously broken or damaged.