Author Topic: Repairing rare paintball gun circuit board?  (Read 3304 times)

Offline eskoskimoTopic starter

Repairing rare paintball gun circuit board?
« on: May 13, 2016, 01:58:05 am »
Maybe in in over my head for a first post lol.  I have limited experience with arduino, messing around with beginners 555 timer kits and bread boards, and have plenty of experience soldering from working with RC hobby stuff.

Want to try repairing a rare circuit board for one of my paintball guns.  It functions flawlessly except for a constant current draw, even when powered off so it will drain a 9v in about a week to the point where the gun powers up, but will not longer fire correctly. I have another identical gun that works fine and the battery will last seemingly indefinitely if not used.

I have isolated the board from grounding on the gun frame, and all other electrical components so I know its somewhere on the board.
I recognize what most of the components are, just really not sure where the logical place to start desoldering components for testing/replacement.

Here's a link to an identical board that i'm considering fixing, it fits and EGO8/Sl8R paintball gun  http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=3928481

thanks for any help or guidance peoples!

Offline Vgkid

• Super Contributor
Re: Repairing rare paintball gun circuit board?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2016, 03:39:11 am »
Is it part of a e- trigger, or electronic hopper. Sounds like there could either be an issue with its sleep mode, or a display drawing tomuch current( if there is a issue with the sleep function). What batteries are you using, and what are the results of others using that board?
If you own any North Hills Electronics gear, message me. L&N Fan

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2016, 03:52:51 am »