Author Topic: Repair Usb Audio interface Focustrite 2i4  (Read 14180 times)

Offline magic

• Super Contributor
Re: Repair Usb Audio interface Focustrite 2i4
« Reply #25 on: January 20, 2020, 10:10:59 am »
USB 1.x/2.0 devices should tolerate shorts between any two pins indefinitely.
That being said, maybe that's too much to expect from audio gear :-DD

Post a pic of the blown parts and their neighborhood.

Offline Countrypicker

« Reply #26 on: January 20, 2020, 12:35:12 pm »
Hey Magic,  thanks for the fast reply. I'm at work right now but I will take pics when I get home (Based in Scotland). I just figured out what those codes are (SMD Codes). I'll use a big magnifier and see if I can decipher the code. I used to be an electronics tech way back in my Air Force days but they didn't use surface mount components in those days. (Old Timer)  ;D. Regarding shorting out pins, I wonder what 5 volts down the input pins of the USB Controller chip would do. It already blew off the little inductors at the input. Also blew off chip U38 and R51. I have ordered a USB3343 chip just in case.

Offline Countrypicker

« Reply #27 on: January 21, 2020, 11:53:53 am »
Pics attached. I found U38 detached inside the casing. It is marked SDERCG. A previous comment says this is NCP303LSN09 but I think that's wrong. I looked up the SDM code and it says LM3670MF-3.3. That's a DC Voltage drop down device 5 Volts to 3.3. Makes sense as the Processor, USB Controller and the Cirrus Logic DAC all use 3.3 volts. U39 is marked Z074. That appears to be  a Fairchild NC7WZ07P6X Dual Buffer. The middle 2 pins appear to be unconnected so that ties in with the Chip schematic. C137 should be 1 uF capacitor according to USN 3343 Data Sheet.

Offline Zucca

• Supporter
  • EE meid in Itali
« Reply #28 on: January 21, 2020, 12:30:14 pm »
I found U38 detached inside the casing

Strange, those do not came off so easy, do not spit on my face but maybe is overheating and desoldering itself?
It's a mistery.