Author Topic: Help/Advice needed diagnosing circuit  (Read 1939 times)

Offline jboTopic starter

Help/Advice needed diagnosing circuit
« on: March 17, 2017, 06:11:29 pm »
Hello EEVForum, I am a pc tech who has recently developed an electronics hobby and have been watching Dave's videos for quite a few months. I am new to electronics other than some hobby level stuff and new to forums in general so forgive me if i violate at protocol or etiquette.  I have a circuit from an inspection machine for automobiles i have been trying to troubleshoot.  It has no visible signs of damage other than a little corrosion in 2 or 3 spots but appears to function fine other than a usb port that is used for a data backup is receiving no power.  One question i have is if the usb controller ic (CY7C63001A-PC) would prevent the vcc lines on the port from receiving power or if it is just used for data. The board number for the whole circuit is EAP0215E20A, I  not bee successful in finding a diagram.  Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.

(i will add a photo later if i am able)
« Last Edit: March 17, 2017, 07:59:36 pm by jbo »

Offline tpowell1830

• Frequent Contributor
  • Peacefully retired from industry, active in life
Re: Help/Advice needed diagnosing circuit
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2017, 06:16:07 pm »
Hi jbo, welcome to the forum.

Yes, a photo (or several) would help and a schematic drawing as well. Or, even a sketched drawing of the circuit that you reverse engineered. The corrosion doesn't sound good.
PEACE===>T

The following users thanked this post: jbo

Offline Nusa

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2017, 06:43:04 pm »
That usb controller does not control the power line. In general, USB power and ground are always connected. If they weren't, memory sticks wouldn't have input power, and would not function. Sounds like you need to trace the 5V power on that board and see where it stops, if it's even present at all.