Author Topic: Samsung “The Frame” Smart TV BT/Wifi issues  (Read 1430 times)

Offline NizNozTopic starter

• Contributor
Samsung “The Frame” Smart TV BT/Wifi issues
« on: May 06, 2021, 04:04:45 pm »
Hi people! Newbie here, so be kind  :(

I bought a used “The Frame” TV that was advertised as “not working”. The owner said “someone” told him to replace the “smart box”. The Frame TV features a slim profile allowing it to be mounted to the wall with little gap. This is enabled by having some of the hardware contained in a separate box, which is connected to the TV itself by an fibre optic cable.

On turning on the TV it seemed the issue was that of Bluetooth connectivity. It wasn’t connecting to the remote (combination BT and IR controller). Only the buttons controlling power (which are IR functions) worked, and this led to the TV repeatedly rebooting. A simple fix was using a regular, universal remote which could control some of the regular functions with IR. Later, In this way I was able to find another issue.  The wifi wasn’t working consistently either. In fact, the more I tinkered, the more it seemed that the BT issue was also intermittent.

Looking at the service manual, it seemed all the BT functions reside in a module, connected by a cable to the main board. In brief, I replaced first the module (worked for a bit, then back to the way it was before). Yesterday I replaced the main board.

Initially everything seemed to work great. A few hours perhaps. Now, there are intermittent issues again. Th SAME issues.

So my thoughts go to the connecter. It’s the one part of this BT/Wifi circuit I haven’t swopped out. Having said this, I had done a basic continuity test on each of the little cables which seemed fine. I’m totally stumped!

Please please let there be a solution out there that will resolve this. I’d really appreciate your help.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2021, 04:52:04 pm by NizNoz »

Offline BrokenYugo

• Super Contributor