Author Topic: Sanken SMPS PSC10089G M faulty  (Read 2482 times)

Offline spdfTopic starter

• Contributor
Sanken SMPS PSC10089G M faulty
« on: September 07, 2017, 05:04:00 pm »
This is my first time I am trying to repair switching mode power supply that I pulled off from old LG plasma TV. After a week or so I am still at it and I cacn't make thibgs right.

Model Sanken PSC10089G M I couldn't find any schematics of it.

At first it was completely dead no output voltage and no standby voltage what so ever. I tried to measure some voltages and I found out that I have ~300V on primary filter caps and that's all. After changing power IC KA7553 standby voltage came a live BUT after trying to powering it on in series with mains 100W bulb relay clicked and bulb began to shine at full brightness - dead short. (I disconnected all smps loads and soldered some pull down resistors to start power supply) I literally checked every component with DMM and couldn't isolate any shorted components in circuit so now I am beginning to suspect switch mode power transformer, but I already know from reading that it is highly unlike that this transformer went bad.

it would be great if someone could give me advice or point out where to look for a clue. ;]
« Last Edit: September 07, 2017, 10:02:12 pm by spdf »

Offline IanMacdonald

• Frequent Contributor
    • IWR Consultancy
Re: Sanken SMPS PSC10089G M
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2017, 05:17:34 pm »
SMPS transformer failure is extremely rare, at least in quality kit. It's more likely you have a short of some kind on the primary side.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2017, 09:44:32 pm »
Kinda running out of options where to check. In primary side Bridge rectifier is good (220V on AC ~300DC) primary filter caps ~300V
3x power mosfet's all good, diode (in photo) good voltage regulation IC's has no obvious short on them. Measured voltages on first transformer got ~300V on both sides. Fuse never was blown.