Author Topic: Sapphire AMD Radeon 6670 dead - transistor identification required please!  (Read 3001 times)

Offline RichB93Topic starter

Hi all,

First off, I want to thank Dave for his fantastic blog and content on YouTube. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to electronics, but that doesn't mean I'm not willing to get stuck in!  ;D

Anyhow, I recently bought a Sapphire AMD Radeon 6670 graphics card on eBay; it was advertised as untested and upon looking at it, I noticed there was a huge hole in transistor Q4 on the PCB. It made it nearly impossible to read the part number but I *think* it was possibly 1417 3M03, or 3W03.

Anyway, is anyone here able to advise on where I can get a replacement, or if I indeed have the right part number. Long shot but if anyone has the same card and can provide a definite part number I'd be over the moon.

Cheers for the help guys!

Rich

EDIT: Here's a picture of a similar board - Not the same but a similar layout and very possibly similar power requirements.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2014, 02:00:46 pm by RichB93 »

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Google: smd marking 3W03 gives http://www.smd-ic.net/product.aspx?id=381801
that identifies TC3W03FU in a VFSOP8/SSOP8 package that is wrong for Q4.
But do you get the idea and process?  ;)
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Offline andtfoot

• Supporter
Q4 on that similar board photo you posted appears to be a 1117 regulator in a SOT223 package (e.g. http://www.ti.com/product/lm1117-n, http://www.linear.com/product/LT1117).
I would guess it is the adjustable version, based on the nearby pair of resistors.