Author Topic: Schumacher SE 5212A Charger repair  (Read 12312 times)

Offline SteveRosenlundTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Schumacher SE 5212A Charger repair
« on: April 19, 2021, 06:14:07 pm »
Hey there everyone.  Please help me with this repair.  I've searched for schematics for this particular charger, but can't find anything as of yet.  There's lots of schematics out there claiming to be of the SE 5212A but none actually appear to be. 

I'm a beginner but have plenty of diagnostics tools in my lab so far.  How would you go about troubleshooting this?

Symptoms:
No charging output. 
12.6VDC on output until i apply a load, then voltage drops to 0
Photos attached.  I'm just getting started on this, so any help is appreciated. 

Steve

Online floobydust

• Super Contributor
Re: Schumacher SE 5212A Charger repair
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2021, 06:26:01 pm »
Resistor R6 looks burnt possibly was 47R. I would sketch a schematic of the little board, test the transistors on it.
The big triac? A17 might have failed. Not sure of its part number.
The high current rectifier diodes might be the part on the heatsink with two black wires going to it? The heatsink is used as a connection, hopefully it doesn't have cheeseball alternator-style diodes that are spring fit.

Offline TheMG

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2021, 12:29:59 am »
The circuitry on the PCB, aside from the large rectifier, is responsible for the analog meter and LED indicators only.
Upon closer inspection it appears to have a relay to turn the output on/off, presumably upon sensing that the battery has reached fully charged voltage. Is this relay being energized appropriately when a discharged battery is connected to the charger, and then de-energizing the relay when no battery is connected? If yes, then this circuitry is doing what it should.