Author Topic: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator  (Read 11463 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oxoocoffee

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« on: March 22, 2018, 02:11:54 pm »
Hello,

This is my first post :) I wanted to share email I got from FeelTech support about 6600 Signal Generator issues ( https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/reflashing-or-resetting-a-feeltech-fy6600-signal-generator/ )

Looks like sometimes next week there will be new updated version available 6800.  Here is part of email I got

"Thank you for your attention to our products. At present, our products have fixed this problem, and the problematic product contact has been recalled. The new firmware version 3.2.1
Next week we will launch the product FY6800.
The upgrade button is a soft key.
Solve the weak current problem between BNC and earth"

Please report your findings here about this unit when available.
 
The following users thanked this post: spec123

Online rhb

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3055
  • Country: us
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2018, 09:36:01 pm »
Funny.  They told me I had a lifetime warranty.  Must have been the lifetime of the unit actually working.  They never did anything about my borked V 3.1 unit.  Fremen67 et al seem to be closing in on having at least a partial solution in the form of external control from a PC.
 

Offline Rasz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2396
  • Country: 00
    • My random blog.
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2018, 02:36:54 am »
so TLDR is "our V1 pieceofshit was recalled (for a very liberal meaning of recalled being we actually DIDNT DO ANYTHING), here buy this V2 pieceofshit"
Who logs in to gdm? Not I, said the duck.
My fireplace is on fire, but in all the wrong places.
 

Online rhb

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3055
  • Country: us
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2018, 11:29:49 pm »
ROFL

I just realized this was posted to "Repair"
 

Offline oxoocoffee

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2018, 12:32:51 am »
Yup. That is true. I made a mistake... Is there a way to remove move it to proper section? This was my first post on here and "Colossal Failure" |O
 

Online rhb

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3055
  • Country: us
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2018, 02:43:38 am »
I have an FY-6600 V 3.1, so  *I* think it highly appropriate.

I think you can move it, but that posts here will stay here,
 

Offline Rasz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2396
  • Country: 00
    • My random blog.
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2018, 06:57:33 am »
I have an FY-6600 V 3.1

dont worry, it has been recalled!
Who logs in to gdm? Not I, said the duck.
My fireplace is on fire, but in all the wrong places.
 

Offline ikrase

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 141
  • Country: us
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2018, 07:44:39 pm »
Does anybody know about the actual machine?
 

Offline cybermaus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 503
  • Country: nl
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2018, 10:56:57 am »
For reference, link to the manufacturers product introduction raffle:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/contests/feeltech-fy6800-signal-generator-free-trial/
 

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1840
  • Country: 00
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2018, 10:58:05 pm »
Any update on this model? I might buy one shortly. I probably won't modify it. Is it just about the best cheap one there is?
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8587
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2018, 11:58:00 pm »
In-depth discussion about the 6600, its front-panel firmware issues, and DIY replacement are at

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/feeltech-fy6600-60mhz-2-ch-vco-function-arbitrary-waveform-signal-generator/

In the same thread, the 6800 model begins to be covered starting approximately at the following posts:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/feeltech-fy6600-60mhz-2-ch-vco-function-arbitrary-waveform-signal-generator/msg1539839/#msg1539839
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/feeltech-fy6600-60mhz-2-ch-vco-function-arbitrary-waveform-signal-generator/msg1546058/#msg1546058

The 6600 and 6800 are similar enough that the thread was not split by model.
I TEA.
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8587
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #11 on: June 30, 2018, 06:29:46 am »
The new model hasn't been out for very long. I haven't heard about any catastrophic failure...yet.
I TEA.
 

Offline Milo29

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: za
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #12 on: July 01, 2018, 09:40:58 pm »
Regarding the PC software that one is required to download from feeltech.net, in order to generate waveforms for the FY66800, has anybody been able to follow the "read me" note and download the software completely for full operation?

I have tried numerous times although it cannot seem to find the necessary files to run the " .exe " file.
 

Offline cybermaus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 503
  • Country: nl
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #13 on: July 02, 2018, 07:20:02 am »
If its the same as the FY6600, then for me the trick was to unpack / move the install to a shorter path name without all those weird Chinese characters.
 

Online rhb

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3055
  • Country: us
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #14 on: July 04, 2018, 01:00:55 pm »
Out of curiosity I checked eBay.  A bunch of sellers are headlining the FY6800 as 100 MHz but then only offer a choice of the regular models, 20, 30, 40 & 60 MHz.  Rather obviously it's not going to do very well at 100 MHz with a 250 MSa/S rate.
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8587
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #15 on: July 05, 2018, 02:32:35 am »
Yeah, I'd be surprised if any of those vendors know what it is they're selling.
I TEA.
 

Offline elettroluis

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: it
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #16 on: November 28, 2018, 11:30:11 pm »
Out of curiosity I checked eBay.  A bunch of sellers are headlining the FY6800 as 100 MHz

I still see these auctions today from UK and Germany, there is no choice of model and the description of the article is "FY6800-60M DDS Signal Generator".
The auction's title is "FY6800-60M DDS Signal Generator Dual Channel 0.01-100MHz Function Arbitrary Wave"

In their description the frequency range it's not mentioned, but by the name and price (around 100 euro) I assume it's the 60MHz version.
Conveniently they chose to write this: "60M Frequency meter function: It can measure frequency, period, pulse width and duty cycle. Max. frequency workable is 100MHz and Min. frequency workable is 0.01 Hz"

So they are trying to pass the counter range for the freq. generator range and list the item as 0-100MHz, which for a function generator is clearly misleading and a dishonest thing to do.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2018, 11:04:10 am by elettroluis »
 

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1840
  • Country: 00
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #17 on: February 22, 2019, 03:05:08 pm »
I broke down and ordered from what seems like one of the main Chinese suppliers. I avoided the KKMOON branded version, but that was the second choice.

So far I am happy with it. I did not see any DC offset and a 10MHz signal looks as thus. In the last image, that mess around 100MHz is always there when the RF is off and generator is powered on.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2019, 03:07:27 pm by metrologist »
 

Offline ArthurDent

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1165
  • Country: us
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #18 on: February 22, 2019, 05:14:33 pm »
Is that 100Mhz stuff just harmonics from the 50Mhz timebase?
 

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1840
  • Country: 00
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #19 on: February 22, 2019, 06:50:28 pm »
If there is a 50 MHz timebase that would be a good place to look. I guess they'd take care of the fundamental, it being within the usable range of this 60MHz model.
 

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1840
  • Country: 00
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #20 on: February 27, 2019, 07:14:34 pm »
Can anyone confirm if the software is clean?

I have downloaded the user guide package and found the installer:

DDS Signal PC Software V6.0.exe
7/26/2018 11:30:14 PM
7,213,061 bytes
7,217,152 bytes on disk

Other file properties are:

Product name: Setup Factory Runtime
Version 9.5.0.0
Setup Engine Copyright 2004-2015 l...
Setup Factory is trademark of Indigo...
original filename suf_launch.exe


 

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1840
  • Country: 00
Re: FeelTech FY6800 signal generator
« Reply #21 on: May 25, 2019, 02:40:45 pm »
Quick note on the offset - when adjusting offset down, when it clicks at 2.5V there will be an upward spike, about 10V I saw. Does the same when scrolling wave to DC.

Does anyone know what is the continuous output in DC? Should I limit the load to 200mA at 10V, or 2W, continuous? I can only find the protection statement: All channels can work more than 60 seconds when the load is short -circuited. So after 60 seconds I should expect the output amp to burn out?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf