Author Topic: Simple charge 6V bat from solar  (Read 1057 times)

Offline msknightTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • My pages
Simple charge 6V bat from solar
« on: November 16, 2019, 04:24:24 pm »
OK ... I'm a beginner attempting to repair an outdoor battery powered, solar charged LED light.

The original PIR sensor went west (along with the external power switch... that's non-responsive too.) ... however I've currently jerry rigged it on the bench with a new 12v DC PIR sensor which appears to have built in ambient light sensing (which it looks like the original one didn't... or was driven to the board) as the original had five cables to the board and this only has three.

Anyway... despite the battery being a 6v M6-4.0 (4Ah) ... I hooked everything together directly.... and it all works!!!

Now... my problem is that I need to hook the solar panel up to charge the battery, and I'm clueless.  Underneath my little worktop bulb, it appears to be putting out 9vDC... so I'm presuming that this will output more when it's in good daylight.

The power from the solar comes in via the black two strand cable at the bottom, and I've currently left that soldered to the circuit board, because I haven't got a clue where I'm going after this point. - There is a red and black going from the circuit board in the direction of the battery, but this is going to a separate 12v dc input jack and isn't connected to the battery.

How best should I hook the DC in from the panel to charge the battery please?

(and how the heck do spiders manage to get inside these units? I found four small deadies in here.)
« Last Edit: November 16, 2019, 04:35:11 pm by msknight »
If god had meant for humans to solder, she'd have given us three hands.

Offline pcmad

• Regular Contributor
    • module web design
Re: Simple charge 6V bat from solar
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2019, 02:52:00 pm »
have you tested it with is external power to work out on the pir will work on 6  to 9 v