Author Topic: SMPSU Modification  (Read 1365 times)

Offline BullyBeefTopic starter

SMPSU Modification
« on: May 20, 2020, 09:35:52 pm »
Hi all - my first post in this forum.  I can't find anything like this on other posts.   I'm no beginner but technology has changed and sometimes I find myself at a loss.  I have a SL Power Electronics brick PSU that I want to repurpose as a laptop supply.  The SMSPU is designed 12volts at up to 6.67amps and I tested it to 6.5 amps when I gave up as the load resistors were cooking. For the laptop, I need 19.5 volts at 4.5 amps - well within existing current capacity so all I need to do is up the voltage, right?  . I couldnt find a circuit diagram anywhere, but the secondary controller is a TEA1761 so I got the application notes and identified the voltage control parts. Those SMDs are hard to solder for us old blokes.  I have attached my scribbled circuit diagram and the one on the app note.  This app note also gives component values to give my required output - very handy. I can now get 19.5 volts - easy enough - but - any load over 1 amp shuts it down. I know what you're thinking - but on my PSU, there is no load sense resistor and the Isense pin is connected to ground via a 220R resistor - I can't see how this is overload protection.   The app note describes a procedure to set up the max current output by shorting Isense direct to ground, so I did this  - I now got 1.5 amps before it shut down.   I swapped out the 19.5V components for the original 12V components and it's giving 6.5 amps again.  If there is no current feedback, why will it not give a lower current at a higher voltage? Hmm - What am I missing?

Online George Edmonds

• Frequent Contributor
Re: SMPSU Modification
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2020, 11:13:40 pm »
Hi

Most SMPSU's are designed for a specific output voltage, trying to increase it frequently makes them self destruct.

George G6HIG

The following users thanked this post: BullyBeef

Offline TheMG