Author Topic: Static from hand killed my expensive mouse, can it be repaired?  (Read 5120 times)

Offline PcmakerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • N00bie!
Static from hand killed my expensive mouse, can it be repaired?
« on: November 27, 2021, 03:52:53 pm »
I have a Steelseries mouse from 2008 that is no longer being manufactured. It's the only mouse that doesn't make my hand hurt when I use it. A used one from eBay goes for around $450 which is a ton of money.

This morning, I touched the mouse and received a static shock. Usually, it stops working for 2 seconds, but it starts working again. Now it's dead for good. I put it in a different USB port, no luck. I tried a different mouse and that worked, but when I plugged in the dead mouse, the new mouse wouldn't work until I reset the PC.

I've been nursing this mouse since 2008. I've only replaced the switches and encoder, but I don't know what to look for in repairing what the static killed on the  little board.

Anything I should look for on the board after I open it up?

« Last Edit: November 28, 2021, 12:28:13 am by Pcmaker »
New to the exciting world of electronics!

Online fzabkar

• Super Contributor
Re: Static from hand killed my expensive mouse, can it be repaired?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2021, 08:11:59 pm »
Look for ESD protection components near the USB electronics.

Measure the resistance between the +5V and Ground pins of the USB connector.

• Regular Contributor
  • N00bie!
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2021, 08:13:59 pm »

On the mouse itself?

Online fzabkar

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2021, 08:43:13 pm »

On the mouse itself?
Yes. Also tests for shorts between ground and each of Data + and Data -.

Offline EHT

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2021, 09:03:30 pm »