Author Topic: Tektronix TDS-540 Console Port?  (Read 2616 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline EB5AGV

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: es
  • The best recycling is repairing
    • Amateur Radio and Test Equipment
Tektronix TDS-540 Console Port?
« on: July 21, 2016, 09:45:30 pm »
Hi all,

I am working on a Tektronix TDS540 which, as most units, has some ACQ board problems. I have already carefully cleaned residue and replaced caps and have also removed some faulty opamps and TTL circuits, which will be soon replaced by new ones.

But I don't know how to get into the serial console port for detailed troubleshooting. I have read about building an adapter. Could someone let me know how to do that?. My unit does not have Option 13. Should I have it?

Best regards,

Jose
JOSE V. GAVILA - La Canyada - Valencia (SPAIN)
http://agvradio.com  AGVradio
http://jvgavila.com   Personal WEB
 

Offline picburner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 232
  • Country: it
Re: Tektronix TDS-540 Console Port?
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2016, 05:51:03 am »
Hi,

this is the TDS console port schematic that I made several years ago:
 
The following users thanked this post: EB5AGV, evb149

Offline EB5AGV

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: es
  • The best recycling is repairing
    • Amateur Radio and Test Equipment
Re: Tektronix TDS-540 Console Port?
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2016, 08:01:58 am »
Hi,

this is the TDS console port schematic that I made several years ago:

Thanks!. I will build one myself  :-/O

It will be a very useful tool to troubleshoot this unit, I am sure.

Regards,

Jose
JOSE V. GAVILA - La Canyada - Valencia (SPAIN)
http://agvradio.com  AGVradio
http://jvgavila.com   Personal WEB
 

Offline piotekp90

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: pl
Re: Tektronix TDS-540 Console Port?
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2018, 09:37:09 am »
Which port is a console port J37 or J40? I have read many topics about console port but I still don't know to which connector I should connect the converter. I see that orginal RS232 connection board is connected to J37.
 

Offline picburner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 232
  • Country: it
Re: Tektronix TDS-540 Console Port?
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2018, 10:29:56 am »
J40 is the console port, J37 is reserved for opt 13 serial/parallel port.
 

Offline piotekp90

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: pl
Re: Tektronix TDS-540 Console Port?
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2018, 08:47:27 am »
I have redrawed your schematic and now I'm working on a PCB layout. Do I understand the J40 pinout correctly?
« Last Edit: October 05, 2018, 08:04:56 am by piotekp90 »
 
The following users thanked this post: worsthorse

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2409
  • Country: ca
Re: Tektronix TDS-540 Console Port?
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2018, 10:22:22 am »
To be sure, while unpowered
Check the grounds and data pins going to the mcu with an ohm meter if they are at the right pins would be a start ...
 

Offline picburner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 232
  • Country: it
Re: Tektronix TDS-540 Console Port?
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2018, 04:43:48 pm »
J37?? I guess you meant J40.
However the pins are marked right.
Keep in mind that in my schematic U1 (MC68681FN) is in PLCC-44 not DIP40.
 

Offline piotekp90

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: pl
Re: Tektronix TDS-540 Console Port?
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2018, 08:06:30 am »
I meant J40 (sorry my mistake). I have prepared schematic for PLCC44 version like in your schematic.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf