Author Topic: Tek TDS3000B series hangs at splash screen.  (Read 2057 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jwalling

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1286
  • Country: us
  • This is work?
Tek TDS3000B series hangs at splash screen.
« on: January 06, 2016, 06:50:22 pm »
I have a TDS3054B scope on my bench that hangs at the initial splash screen. I suspect that it may be trashed firmware, but I suppose it could be most anything. I tried using the (alleged) method for a hard reset I found in http://www1.tek.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=6124 by holding down the B Trigger button, but that didn't help any. The (crappy) service manual was not of any use, what a surprise!  :-- Hoping someone might have a bit more insight into this series of scopes.
Thanks.

Jay
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.
 

Online cncjerry

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 946
Re: Tek TDS3000B series hangs at splash screen.
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2016, 03:49:48 am »
I assume that if you had any optional keys in that unit you have removed them during the test.  It's loading firmware right after the splash screen and checks the optional firmware keys right around there.
 

Offline Jwalling

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1286
  • Country: us
  • This is work?
Re: Tek TDS3000B series hangs at splash screen.
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2016, 11:51:19 am »
I assume that if you had any optional keys in that unit you have removed them during the test.  It's loading firmware right after the splash screen and checks the optional firmware keys right around there.

Yup - tried with the 2 keys removed. Didn't make a difference. Thanks.

Jay
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.
 

Online cncjerry

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 946
Re: Tek TDS3000B series hangs at splash screen.
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2016, 03:28:48 pm »
Never looked inside mine, knock on wood, but if this was a computer I would be reseating/replacing the memory.
 

Offline HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4263
  • Country: de
Re: Tek TDS3000B series hangs at splash screen.
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2016, 04:11:16 pm »
Test the power supply first inside the scope.
About 5 years ago I had two of these scope fail because of a single resistor in the PSU.
I remember how surprised I was to find such a cheap PSU in these scopes.
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Offline Jwalling

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1286
  • Country: us
  • This is work?
Re: Tek TDS3000B series hangs at splash screen.
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2016, 05:51:58 pm »
Never looked inside mine, knock on wood, but if this was a computer I would be reseating/replacing the memory.

Memory is very fine pitched TSOP synchronous DRAM. Somehow I don't think I'd be successful.

Test the power supply first inside the scope.
About 5 years ago I had two of these scope fail because of a single resistor in the PSU.
I remember how surprised I was to find such a cheap PSU in these scopes.

Power supply is fine in this one. No drop-outs or excessive ripple. I guess I was hoping that the scope had a recovery mode for the flash.

Thanks all.

Jay
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.
 

Offline RR

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: cz
Re: Tek TDS3000B series hangs at splash screen.
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2016, 07:38:49 pm »
Did you tried RS232? Or maybe there is some internal debug port that can spill out some boot info.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf