Author Topic: Tektronix 2201 New Problem + Repair Video  (Read 6716 times)

Offline ManCaveTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Tektronix 2201 New Problem + Repair Video
« on: November 01, 2014, 10:29:37 am »
Hey guys,

I have just posted a video where I fixed the power supply for this scope, but unfortunately something else has gone wrong.

After the first partially successful repair I ended up with too high voltages on the rail and that must have blown something up. Since this is my first repair, I'm now studying the service manual, but if anyone has any ideas where to go from here, please let me know.

Thanks!
Filip @ ManCave

Video is Here:
http://youtu.be/4dmfBVValns

• Regular Contributor
Re: Tektronix 2201 New Problem + Repair Video
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2014, 04:57:50 pm »

For those who don't have time or aren't interested in watching the vid, the fault seems to be pointing to the horizontal amp or some other horizontal part. Basically, I get the waveform displayed only as a vertical line. This happened after very slight over voltage on the rails.

My first suspect were ICs on the 5V rail. I checked all the digital ICs in the circuit and went through the datasheets to see maximum voltage ratings. Picked the ones which could have been affected by the slightly higher voltage, checked and they seem to be OK. I haven't had much time to spend on it yet, I'll need to go through this in more detail and also consult the service manual.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks!

Offline bance

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2014, 07:31:09 pm »
Have you read this document? Maybe it will be of some help....
https://copy.com/vhszaRuZR4O76pQa

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2014, 11:03:35 pm »
Have you read this document? Maybe it will be of some help....
https://copy.com/vhszaRuZR4O76pQa

Thanks Bance, I have this and have read parts of it, but not the whole thing. But good to remember that I've got it! Thanks for reminder!