Author Topic: Tektronix 2213A Project Thread <Novice, first timer>  (Read 6286 times)

Offline guy232Topic starter

• Contributor
Tektronix 2213A Project Thread <Novice, first timer>
« on: February 18, 2019, 07:01:05 pm »

Goal: As a novice, handle this encounter in a way that uses as many "best practices" in regards to both troubleshooting, reworking and selecting replacement components that may be needed. Wanting to try avoiding the typical new guy approach of shotgunning components before completing tests and getting numbers etc.
-------------------------

I recently purchased a used tektronix 2213a from an auction site. Tried it once, displayed both traces and seemed responsive to input. I powered down and let it sit while I spent quite a few days researching old posts around the web to get an idea of what I need to do.

Total novice but have bought some equipment to hopefully even the playing field a bit. I will be taking my time and researching things as I go. I will also be posting links to imgur albums with captions to try and keep any main points streamlined. Completely welcome all criticisms/suggestions if anyone wishes to point something out to me.

I'm aware of HV present in the machine when on/off and know about discharging CRT to chasis & manually resistor bleeding main caps.

Tools/Materials:

• Hi-res scan of 2213A Service Manual courtesy of Artek Media
  • Aoyue 469 variable watt soldering iron w/ Hakko T18-D16 Chisel Tip
  • Hakko FR-301 w/ n61 1mm nozzle
  • Kester "44" 63/37 .020"
  • MG Chem RA Flux Paste
  • Digital multimeter, standard probes & 6" extended reach clip test leads

Objective 1: Safety/Reliability:

Pics for this section w/ captions for clarity

My work done: https://imgur.com/a/oDoDqyv

The components I have questions about: https://imgur.com/a/8NsWGsh