Author Topic: Tektronix 2465 CRT Issue  (Read 3111 times)

Offline TimeBanditTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Tektronix 2465 CRT Issue
« on: April 12, 2023, 01:15:32 am »
Not new to repairing electronics, but a total newb to working on scopes. This 2465 (non A or B, but has the DMM option) powers up, but I get nothing but a faint glow on the screen. That glow does somewhat respond to the Intensity pot. Pressing Beam Find does nothing. So far the only troubleshooting I've done is to check the low-voltage power supplies against the chart in the service manual--they're all within spec, though I haven't measured ripple yet. Obviously I'm not going to probe around the HV section without an appropriate probe (don't have one) and some direction from you folks. I'm attaching a photo of the current panel settings on the off chance I've missed something stupid, but I fear it's more serious.

[ Specified attachment is not available ]

« Last Edit: April 12, 2023, 02:03:10 am by TimeBandit »

Offline jonpaul

• Super Contributor
Re: Tektronix 2465 CRT Issue
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2023, 01:48:42 am »
bonjour cher Monsieur

2336 is NOT 2465, and a blank screen is NOT  normally a CRT issue.

1. get service manual for the serial number range see Tekwiki and w140.

2. Follow troubleshooting flowcharts

3. most of these decade's old scopes are still fine, most likely

a. use control,cleaner on all pots, contact cleaner on all switches except V/ div vertical

Exercise every control.

b. if no traces in TRIG AUTO, or BEAM FIND, suspect HV transformer and multipliers

c. HV test points are on HV shield area, and at cathode V, perhaps 1500...2200V.

Easy to check with a VOM and HV probe.

d. If the V or H out amps are bad the traces are deflected off screen, but visible in BEAM FIND

bon chance

Jon
Jean-Paul  the Internet Dinosaur

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2023, 02:06:09 am »