Author Topic: Tektronix 465B Focus Issue  (Read 14154 times)

Offline Tomi_ETopic starter

• Contributor
Tektronix 465B Focus Issue
« on: March 20, 2016, 01:49:20 am »
Hello, this is my first post on the EEVBlog so I've been dragging my feet until I finished reading a bit more of the Tektronix manual.  While also exploring other repair posts that might help with my scopes fault. I'm a bit of a novice with more complex electronics even though I took a few electronic classes in collage.  I even built a basic Theremin from scratch as a very successful birthday gift. So I would say I know enough to stay safe and double check myself before testing anything in this scope. But at best I'm still just a self taught hobbyist.

I bought this scope on ebay as not working with no trace. After winning the offer I started to think that it was a mistake and I was now the owner of a boat anchor. Thankfully in less then 5 minutes of tinkering I was able to get a trace. This Tektronix 465B was eager to show it's stuff and that was a huge relief. Now starts the fun part, cleaning and fixing this Tek.

Besides some Dirty contacts the only other issue I can see is bad focus. Also the Intensity seems a little too touchy to me.

Looking in the manual I can see there are some test points and wave forms I can check... Under the high voltage cover plate. Oh boy.

It's a bit dirty under there and from what I read in Tek Troubleshooting PDF That dust can cause leakage. So I will be cleaning that section... very carefully.
http://www.sphere.bc.ca/test/tek-parts/troubleshooting-scopes.pdf

I'm unsure that the dust could cause the issue though. I hooked up my working Leader scope to Test point 93 shown in the CRT Circuit schematic and the waveform looks ok. Until I adjust the intensity and this happens.