Electronics > Repair

Tektronix CSA-8000 / TDS-8000 repair experiences?

(1/11) > >>

EB5AGV:
Hi all,

I have been working intermittently for six years |O on a seemingly impossible to finish project. I had the (bad) luck to get my first CSA-8000, a cheap one coming from eBay.de, on 2011 . It was clearly a unit which someone has tried to fix and had let it go... Now I know why!!!

I documented my first attempts to get it working on my WEB:

http://jvgavila.com/csa8000.htm

Well, to make a very long story short, I have worked so far on six units (five CSA-8000 and one TDS-8000, which are exactly the same). Four of them are mine. None of them works fine yet... The best unit, which I was able to get running on Windows 98 (it was an old hardware unit), even passing the compensation procedure, decided to stop working and have not had the nerve to get back to it. For the other three units, one is a parts unit, and the other two, which run Windows 2000 software, work BUT don't pass the compensation procedure.

All in all, it seems to me that the acquisition board (ACQ BOARD) is the most delicate item on these units. There are several versions of it and I have seen that the hardware has some patches on it which probably are needed to comply with some specifications. These patches are small plug-in circuits. I have seen units with just one of them and other with five of them. Then there are some ACQ boards which have the STROBE coax cables connected and some which not. And they don't seem to be fully interchangeable.

Of course, another very common problem is the NVRAM batteries. There are three of them and all go bad. I have replaced quite a bit of them and have managed to fix the POWER PC non-booting problem but then, the battery on the ACQ BOARD generates calibration faults. I wonder if someone has found the correct way to re-calibrate the mainframe and get rid of those faults.