Author Topic: Trouble identifying pin 1 on 3832B in hp smps  (Read 1784 times)

Offline wedgetail

• Contributor
Trouble identifying pin 1 on 3832B in hp smps
« on: February 18, 2017, 01:34:30 pm »
I followed the very big thread on Rigol oscilloscope investigation about a year ago. This is my first post as I am struggling to identify pin outs on the 3842B SMC footprint. My background is a lifetime in industrial instrumentation amongst this a lot of computing and associated electronics.

I am now retired but I like a simple electronic challenge now and then. A family member passed me a dead HP printer switchmode power supply, 32V, GNF, 16V output voltages. No output to be measured. I have found a number of internet hits regarding such power adaptors and have a fair idea of how to go about troubleshooting this, especially if I can find a schematic. Even before I need the schematic I have pin identification problem on the smc 3842B item.

hp Invent Ac Power Adapter  0,+16V,+32V   using following information I have googled a lot but not managed a schematic yet.

0957-2094
5905684046 Rev A1
PA-2400-02H --->> LiteON

I am attaching a section form the circuit board showing the IC in question.  I thought I had got a good start by following the startup circuit of about 1 Mohm and a capacitor connected to pin 7 and then checking pin 5 being GND because I know where the high cap ground is and assume that pin 5 would be gnd but when doing a ohms test I find about 20kohm to pin5.

If I rotate the "pin1" start point 180 degrees I do get 0 ohm to the new pin 5, but now I have not yet identified the pin 7 expected startup circuit.  Due to this confusion I decided to look for help.

Any suggestions to pin out on the picture.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2017, 01:42:45 pm by wedgetail »

Offline Armadillo

• Super Contributor
Re: Trouble identifying pin 1 on 3832B in hp smps
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2017, 01:41:42 pm »
The bar always on the left, and pin 1 on lower left [see pic]