Author Topic: Trying to troubleshoot a PSU  (Read 5084 times)

Offline diegosfbTopic starter

• Contributor
Trying to troubleshoot a PSU
« on: January 14, 2015, 09:11:36 pm »
Hi guys,

I am trying to troubleshoot a Bench PSU.

When a set an output voltage, lets say 7V. it sets 7V on the output but a few seconds later you can hear the relays switching and that value changes to maybe 3.4, then to 12 etc. (there is no patter on what voltage it switched to).

My first guess is there is some kind of problem with the feedback error amplification stage; but I am not sure what is the best way to meassure and troubleshot this kind of thing (I am no repair expert :( )

I am attaching some schematics of the PSU. If anyone has some advice as to where and what to start measuring I will appreciate it.

Best Regards,

Offline RJFreeman

• Regular Contributor
    • Australian Technical Production Services
Re: Trying to troubleshoot a PSU
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2015, 05:02:13 am »
looking at the schematic page one (page 2 is pretty well the same only with the switching facilities) , think of this circuit in three major parts:
1) there is a power supply (yes I know, bear with me here) in the top left hand corner - this generates +12V, -12V, -6V and a +2.5V reference (off the TL431).
This consists of N3, V1A, V2A, V3A, V4A, V5A, V6A, V7A and associated R's and C's and is power by Transformer windings N5

2) Voltage regulator circuitry below this which regulates the main output and provides current limiting and voltage regulation - this uses 2.5V off V5A as a reference voltage and the active circuitry is powered by section 1.
This consists of N1 and N2 V20, V21 and V22 - V11A V12A V13A, V14A and is powered from Taps N2, N3, N4.
the transformer tap is selected by section 3 - depending on the output voltage