Author Topic: Uni-t UT301B IR Thermometer  (Read 2799 times)

Offline vagfou

• Contributor
Uni-t UT301B IR Thermometer
« on: November 03, 2015, 07:28:11 am »
Hi,
I have the Uni-t UT301B IR Thermometer for about 4 years now. Until some time ago it worked fine.

But one day I turn on the laser and the icon apears on the screen as always. But when I push the triger
to make the measurement the display flickers once, the laser turns on and off quickly and the icon for the laser
goes off. The thermometer works fine when taking measurements without the laser.

So I decided to go in. Everything seems fine. I connect it to a voltage supply and start testing.
At about 9.5 volts and up the laser works fine and there is no flickering.
BUT after some testing while playing with the voltage from 4 to 10.5 volts the thermometer can't measure
any more. It displays OL (over limit) every time.  :palm:

Can anybody help with this?

PS. I am not an electronics engineer

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
Re: Uni-t UT301B IR Thermometer
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2015, 06:38:46 pm »
Can you post some clear focused pictures of the pcb (both sides) so we have an idea?

Offline vagfou

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2015, 01:03:59 pm »
Here are some fotos of the thermometer and the pcbs inside.

Offline sdk.61

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2015, 09:25:22 pm »
Hi , what exactly is the breakdown I don't understand

Offline Maxlor

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2015, 11:17:41 pm »
Dave loves to say that the power rails are the first thing you should measure, makes sense to me. I'm guessing that when the laser is switched on, VCC gets draged down to where the device stops working properly. Can you confirm that?

Offline vagfou

• Contributor
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2015, 10:06:11 am »
Hi , what exactly is the breakdown I don't understand