Author Topic: Uni-T ut33d ampere displays over load repair help request  (Read 3736 times)

Offline ABHIRAMSHIBUTopic starter

• Contributor
Uni-T ut33d ampere displays over load repair help request
« on: July 02, 2017, 02:12:59 am »
I have been using this multimeter for 3 years. It was working fine until last week I accedentally blown off fuse while I was measuring mill amps. Then I replaced the fuse. Here in India we get cheep crusty fuses and I put one with 0.5mA rating. Yesterday it happens again, now with fuse ampere measurement of the multimeter is broken. All ampere ranges will give 1 (overload) even 10A when not connected.

I have looked inside the multimeter and didn't find any thing burnt or broken.

All other measurements work and is upto spec.

I can't afford a new multimeter now.. If I could repair it, it would be better..

Can anyone please tell me what to check and what is most probably blown off.

There is a detailed review with all teardown pictures posted in this forum by another user.

I didn't find any schematics for this multimeter and it has very low input protection but better than cheep Chinese metres to say..

Offline MosherIV

• Super Contributor
Re: Uni-T ut33d ampere displays over load repair help request
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2017, 12:27:13 pm »
Most people would just get another meter since it is so cheap, however since you are on a budget.
The UT33D is basically the DT830D re-packaged by Uni-T.

Search for the DT830, the schematics are on the web. Some people have dedicated web sites to it  :-DD

Watch Dave's video on how DMMs work to gain an understanding of how they work in general.

My guess it that you have damaged the transistor the amplifies the current sense voltage since both the fused and unfused ranges show the same fault.

PS use a properly rated fuse in future, this is what happens if you do not.