Author Topic: Tektronix 2465B 50 Ohm Overload  (Read 4923 times)

Offline SublimisTopic starter

Tektronix 2465B 50 Ohm Overload
« on: October 22, 2016, 09:31:01 am »
I was curious if any one could give me some insight on trying to find the root cause of this error. I had my scope turned on no probes about 5 min the scope threw this error. Now when I put a probe on and put it on the probe cal on the scope, doesn't matter the channel and switch it to 50 ohm DC it throws the error after about 5 seconds. I have been talking to a person here and there and has been helpful in some ways but I'm new to this and not sure where to look for some of the items that he stated. He told me to look for cracks in the 50Ohm and thermistor are these in the attenuator? Totally new to this and I appreciate any help.
 :-BROKE

« Last Edit: October 23, 2016, 10:17:57 pm by Sublimis »

Offline siggi

• Regular Contributor
Re: Tektronix 2465B 50 Ohm Overload
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2016, 01:41:57 pm »
Have you tried running the self-tests http://www.tek.com/support/faqs/how-do-you-run-self-tests-2465, and do they run to completion without failure?
Does the scope look to be reasonably in cal? Note that the frequency of the compensation output on the 2465B changes with the time base, so you can do a quick check of the timebase calibration by hooking a 10X probe to the calibrator, then running up and down the timebase settings. You should have the same number of cycles on screen from way low until the calibrator is at 5MHz or so.