Author Topic: Volvo electronic module repair.  (Read 33910 times)

Offline juris.dTopic starter

• Contributor
Volvo electronic module repair.
« on: April 06, 2015, 06:38:44 pm »
Hello all!

Long time watcher, first time poster who finally needs to ask for your help/advice. I am warning you in advance, that I am a newbie who knows the basic theory and enjoys watching a lot of youtube videos of Mike, Dave, AvE, Jerri Elsworth, Applied science and so on, however, I am not by far an electronics engineer.

I have an automotive repair dilemma here which ultimately boils down to electronic fundamentals in repairing a water damaged device that processes CAN signals.

INTRO start
skip this if you are not interested in the explanations
I own a volvo s80 (2003) that has stood on the outside for some time and it has turned out, that it has the infamous sunroof drain problem which in turn has caused water damage to the Central Electronic Module of the car. If anybody is interested in more details, please ask, but I arrived to this conclusion after a few basic fixes of the failed window washer pump did not work... And after taking out the module itself, you can see the substantial damage caused to it.

The repair at the dealer costs too much for me to consider this option - 1000 EUR for the module plus another approx. 200 EUR for adding it to the car as they apparently have unique identifiers and the ECU will not recognize it, thus it will not work (there is some blabber about downloads from Volvo servers within the VADIS (volvo's own diagnostic software) package which you need to have a subscription etc.) All of that being done to prevent these modules from being stolen and sold left and right.

I have googled quite a lot and it seems that these modules are easily repairable, and a few people have completed it, but with different main causes. As well as there are services that specialize in the repair of these devices.
INTRO end