Author Topic: Eaton 5115 rackmount UPS repair help?  (Read 412 times)

Offline paulbt

• Regular Contributor
Eaton 5115 rackmount UPS repair help?
« on: December 15, 2020, 11:22:14 am »
Hello to everyone!
It is my very first topic opened here in the repair section.
At my workplace the UPS from our rack stopped working a few days ago. If the power button is pressed or hold, no relay clicks inside and there is no output. It is not my job to repair it, but it is part of my hobby, so I took it home and tried to troubleshoot it. So I will describe what I did and what I've found so far without having a schematic or even a block diagram at hand. I have no experience with any UPS, but I tried to use my common sense and my humble power supply experience I have so far to understand the modules and how they connect between each other.
- first I visually checked all electrolytics, they all seem fine, I did not tried to unsolder the biggest ones to check them with a LCR meter, but maybe I will do it in the next days;
- the batteries seem to be ok at around 38V from 6x6V lead-acid;
- then I plugged it in the wall socket and check the 230V which goes to some relay contacts which either connects it directly to the output or to the HV oscillator powered by the batteries
- checked with an external 12V supply all the relays - they all click and their contact state (short or open) seems to change as it should;
- checked all the THT diodes, resistors, MOSFETs, coils, common mode filters, MOVs, X and Y caps - nothing suspicious  :(
- checked all the SMD bipolar transistors and diodes - nothing as well  :(
- checked if the power button works and it does very well. I followed back the two traces that it shorts together - they lead to the other side of the board to some diodes and smd bipolars
- visually checked for broken traces and then used the continuity tester on a few of them that seemed burned - nothing again   >:(