Author Topic: Where are the Electronic trade and old repair service shops gone to?  (Read 10057 times)

Offline VladKEasternTigerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hi gang, I love electronics and working and learning with breadboards and making circuits, working with components and using various testers.

I am a newbie in this hobby and Im wondering where are the television and electronic service and repair shops we used to have in the country? Im speaking for the UK but im sure its the same in the USA Canada and Australia etc.. I remember about 10 years ago I went in to a great service center and they were 3 guys working on monitors and had a full supply of televisions computers and other electronic devices to repair, they were highly skilled in their trade, so where is it all and how do you put your electronic hobby and skill you have to use in a trade where you can make money from it?

GeekGirl

Re: Where are the Electronic trade and old repair service shops gone to?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 12:06:08 pm »
I remember about 10 years ago I went in to a great service center and they were 3 guys working on monitors and had a full supply of televisions computers and other electronic devices to repair, they were highly skilled in their trade, so where is it all and how do you put your electronic hobby and skill you have to use in a trade where you can make money from it?

Most TV and computer repair these days is board swapping :( very little consumer electronics is repaired at component level.