Author Topic: Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?  (Read 986 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Harfner

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: de
Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?
« on: September 02, 2018, 07:42:27 am »
I got a HP3478A right out off the waste bin.

The power switch is broken, it does not stay "on", so I have to press it continuously to keep the device working. Obviously not a long term solution.  ;)

Does anybody know, where to get a new switch? Preferably in Germany or at least in Europe. Shipping cost from the US is probably much too high.

Otherwise, the HP3478A seems to work, at least it passes self test.
 

Offline ArthurDent

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 760
  • Country: us
Re: Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2018, 08:33:50 am »
The power switch has a small piece of bent wire that is the toggle device that is held in place by the spring that also pushes the switch lever and button back out when you release it. I picked up several 'broken' HP 3478A multimeters and a couple of them had a similar problem. What I found on one was that the heatshrink covering the switch terminals was too far toward the front of the switch and over time started rubbing on the small wire toggle device and prevented it from going into the latching position. The second one was just a little dirty so I brushed the dirt and dust off and applied a small drop of light oil on each end of the metal toggle. Both switches worked fine after the repair. If you're careful you can probably save the switch you have. 
 
The following users thanked this post: bitseeker

Offline Harfner

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: de
Re: Where to find a new a new keycap for the power switch for a HP3478A?
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2018, 12:39:12 am »
Thank you very much.

I tried following your advice and realised, the things are even simpler in my case: the toggle device is working! It's just the key cap broken/missing, meaning I have to press the power button with a screwdriver to reach the toggle point.

This allowed me verify that at least 3V and 30V DC is working correctly within spec. A 10k resistor also gives a plausible value.

So I have to ask: Where do I find new key caps for the power switch and for the front/rear switch?
 

Offline Terry01

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 764
  • Country: scotland
Re: Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2018, 12:46:37 am »
There is a post on here somewhere where a guy has loads of spares for HP Tek etc machines. I think he came across a rack of spares somewhere. He has everything numbered so just a part number and he can tell you if he has that part or not.

I'll see if I can find it for you,,,,
Sparks and Smoke means i'm nearly there! 8)
 

Offline Terry01

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 764
  • Country: scotland
Re: Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2018, 12:51:11 am »
Sparks and Smoke means i'm nearly there! 8)
 

Offline TERRA Operative

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 572
  • Country: jp
  • Voider of warranties
    • Near Far Media Youtube
Re: Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2018, 02:19:40 am »
If you have a 3D printer, you can give this button I made a try.

I haven't tried it myself yet, so if you do print it, let me know how well it works. :D
Any circuit design must contain at least one part which is obsolete, two parts which are unobtainable, and three parts which are still under development.

https://www.youtube.com/user/NearFarMedia/
 
The following users thanked this post: bitseeker

Online Bratster

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • Country: us
Re: Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2018, 02:33:27 pm »
If you have a 3D printer, you can give this button I made a try.

I haven't tried it myself yet, so if you do print it, let me know how well it works. :D
Thanks for posting that, was able to replace the broken button on the front/rear switch on my 3478.

I did have to shave down the little locking tabs inside that cap, and it still took quite a bit of force to push on so I removed the linkages from the meter to be able to apply force safely.

Sent from my Fi Moto x4 using Tapatalk

 

Offline TERRA Operative

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 572
  • Country: jp
  • Voider of warranties
    • Near Far Media Youtube
Re: Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2018, 11:16:02 pm »
Nice.
I'll modify the 3D file a bit to compensate.

Can you post a pic? :)
Any circuit design must contain at least one part which is obsolete, two parts which are unobtainable, and three parts which are still under development.

https://www.youtube.com/user/NearFarMedia/
 

Online Bratster

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 237
  • Country: us
Re: Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2018, 03:38:29 am »
Nice.
I'll modify the 3D file a bit to compensate.

Can you post a pic? :)
Here you go.
Now just to replace the Rifa caps...

Sent from my Fi Moto x4 using Tapatalk

 

Offline TERRA Operative

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 572
  • Country: jp
  • Voider of warranties
    • Near Far Media Youtube
Re: Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2018, 12:11:24 pm »
 :-+ Looks good!
Any circuit design must contain at least one part which is obsolete, two parts which are unobtainable, and three parts which are still under development.

https://www.youtube.com/user/NearFarMedia/
 

Offline Harfner

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: de
Re: Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2018, 02:05:41 am »
Hello, I finally found the time to test the button caps a German fellow provided just for material costs. Like Bratster wrote, I had to widen the inside with a file/rasp?, otherwise I could not fit the cap.
I replaced the ram battery as well, which probably was original from 1986. So I finally had a justification for buying the isolation transformer some time ago.
Many thanks to TERRA Operative for providing the 3D-model.
 
The following users thanked this post: TERRA Operative

Offline TERRA Operative

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 572
  • Country: jp
  • Voider of warranties
    • Near Far Media Youtube
Re: Where to find a new power switch for a HP3478A?
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2018, 03:17:28 am »
Here's a new version with a bit more clearance inside.
Might help to fit better for future prints.
Any circuit design must contain at least one part which is obsolete, two parts which are unobtainable, and three parts which are still under development.

https://www.youtube.com/user/NearFarMedia/
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf