Author Topic: XBox One S repair (Ebay project)  (Read 3441 times)

Offline LiftedTraceTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
XBox One S repair (Ebay project)
« on: June 16, 2019, 10:22:04 pm »
Hi. I am a noob, leraning to swim in the deep end. I am looking for some help in my adventure trying to repair an xbox one s I got off ebay. I got it more for the fun of trying to repair it more than getting it to work. It was listed as having water damage, so I did what the standard is when you get anything....."Dont turn it on.....take it apartt".

I found right away that someone else had already had a go at this thing. There was a connector that looked really bodged and the board was shorted internally at that point. I have no clue if it was caused from the previous owner or what, but I dug out some of the burn to the point I had no more short. When I plug the mother board in now, I get a few virtually no current draw for about 1-2 seconds, then a few hundred mA draw for about a half a second, then back ti virtually nothing. It seems like something is maybe trying to start, and then shutting down.

I find many many posts of people having similar issue, the only difference they have that I dont is a speaker beep letting them know the board is powering up and then back down. I could not find any info online that talked about what may be going on when there is no feed back at all, so I thought I would ask the smartest group I know.....this forum.

I dont know much of what to tell you other than what I know.