Author Topic: Yamaha a-520 Repair Help  (Read 4091 times)

Offline enticer340Topic starter

Yamaha a-520 Repair Help
« on: December 10, 2017, 12:05:46 am »
Hello all, was wondering if I could get some opinions on a old integrated amp I am trying to get going again. Now I am a mechanic by trade but play with electronics on the side sort of. My dad bought this Yamaha A-520 new when he was 17 so I really want to make it work again, about 8 years ago he put a new transformer in it because the old one failed and it worked fine for a few days after that and then a puff of smoke and nothing. it sat since then and now I have been digging into it and found 2 bad power transistors on one channel (2SA1265 and 2SC3182) and 2 bad driver transistors if that's the term (SA1306A and 2SC3298A) on the same channel and about 7 blown resistors. everything else looks good and I have new parts on order just was curious if there is anything else to look for when these components fail on a older amp. Any input would be appreciated thanks!

Offline FlexibleMammoth

• Regular Contributor
Re: Yamaha a-520 Repair Help
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2017, 12:23:03 am »
Just my two cents here:
Get matched power transistors. They are more expensive, but if you cheap out here, it will go up in smoke again once you turn up the volume.
And replace all electrolytic caps if the amp is really old. Check the PCB for heavy burn marks (burnt fiberglass is a conductor) and scrape if necessary.

Also get yourself a variable isolation transformer (Note: a Variac is NOT an isolation transformer) to bring up the repaired amp slowly and watch for more smoke or strange smell. Also, an isolation transformer really helps you to not die a slow and painful death if you touch something that has high voltage on it.

Offline Armadillo

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2017, 12:36:08 am »
Well here is my opinion;