Author Topic: Yamaha A-S500 Amplifier DC protection  (Read 7156 times)

Offline tiggerlatorTopic starter

• Contributor
  • !
Yamaha A-S500 Amplifier DC protection
« on: March 30, 2023, 08:16:45 am »

Hi
I have this amplifier. The problem is as follows. When plugged in it powers up, as soon as the volume control is turned, with or without nothing connected the amp clicks off and the power LED flashes. I have tried the fault diagnosis mode according to the manual and it seems to be saying it is DC protection.

I have checked the voltages from the main transformer which is about 55v, and from the secondary which is about 9v. I have also checked all 4 main transistors collector to ground and they are all 47.5v DC.

I am only a amateur, and have a digital MM. Can anyone give me any pointers to check please, i would love to get this amp working again. The person i got it off said it was working and his wife unplugged it, now it has this fault.

I have linked the service manual.

Thanks.

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/1074982/Yamaha-A-S500.html

Offline Jeff eelcr

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Yamaha A-S500 Amplifier DC protection
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2023, 10:56:41 am »
Without looking at the manual, did you check bias and DC offset adjustments?
These would be the first things to check.
Jeff

• Contributor
  • !
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2023, 02:58:05 pm »
Sorry, i am no expert. Would these checks be in the service manual?

thx

Offline andy3055

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2023, 05:01:22 pm »