Author Topic: Yamaha HTR2067 repair help required please.  (Read 247 times)

Offline SteveC

• Contributor
Yamaha HTR2067 repair help required please.
« on: November 03, 2019, 11:17:28 am »
Hi,

I have an HTR2067 that appears to have a blown subwoofer channel.  I found the subwoofer connectors disconnected, not sure how long they were like that.  Also not sure if they ever got shorted.  I suspect when my wife moved some furniture that was when the wires got disconnected.

Does this model have output protection of some sort?  Anyone konw where I can get a service manual?  I am a qualified tech.

Regards,

Steve
« Last Edit: November 03, 2019, 11:21:20 am by SteveC »

Offline mzacharias

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Yamaha HTR2067 repair help required please.
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2019, 06:46:36 pm »
There's no protection circuit for the subwoofer pre-amp level output, and no need for any. Most likely a broken solder pad or damaged eyelet at the jack itself, or disabled in the setup software. (There would be one or more muting transistors involved, as with all channels in a modern receiver.)

Offline SteveC

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2019, 08:41:12 pm »
Thanks,

I'm not using a powered subwoofer, the s/w speaker is connected to the o/p jacks on the rear of the unit.  I haven't tested the cable yet as I only discovered the fault late yesterday.  I plan to swap the s/w o/p with one of the surround o/p to see if it definitely the s/w channel after I test the cables.

In my early days as a tech (I am now retired) I was taught not to leave speakers disconnected as that would blow the o/p chips, hence my thinking that as the leads had become disconnected, the o/p stage might have blown.  Modern gear might be more robust though.

Regards

Steve

Offline SteveC

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2019, 10:49:22 pm »
An update.