Author Topic: Yamaha PSR-500 keyboard - no audio from speakers  (Read 352 times)

Offline YurkshireLadTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Yamaha PSR-500 keyboard - no audio from speakers
« on: February 03, 2024, 10:50:43 pm »
I took my old Yamaha PSR500 apart to see if I could identify why I'm not hearing any audio from the speakers. I do hear a slight pop when I power it on/off though.

Referencing the attached circuit, I started at the speakers and couldn't register a signal there. I worked back to IC22, the power amp, and, while I'm not very good at debugging circuits/ICs, all I could see was mains hum when I put my scope between the ground pain and either input or output pins.

I went from there to both op amps (IC21), and had the same result. I then checked IC20, and couldn't find a signal there either. I did note that all of the ICs I checked had 26V when I put my DMM between ground and Vcc. (Edit - I need to re-check and note down which ICs showed 26V).

I didn't look at IC2, as I don't think I've found a datasheet for it, if one is even available. I will check all these ICs again, to make sure I was checking the right pins.

What is the best way to debug an op amp? I saw a video online that said to compare the voltages between the non-inverting and inverting inputs. I didn't see anything there, though I think I need to go back and check using a smaller V/division, just in case.

I also forgot to check the headphone jack, to see if that was getting a signal.

Anyway, I thought you might find this circuit interesting if nothing else. I don't really expect to fix this keyboard, but I'm enjoying the investigation.

Offline cncjerry

• Supporter
Re: Yamaha PSR-500 keyboard - no audio from speakers
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2024, 05:13:44 am »