Author Topic: Yet another GPU repair - dead 1080 Ti (and a ME at the end of my abilities)  (Read 6538 times)

Offline yjgfiklTopic starter

Hi smart people of EEVBlog, I've reached the point where I'm stumped by what to do next here. I accidentally purchased a dead GPU off eBay (I mixed up the listings) and figured I could at least use it as a learning opportunity and attempt to repair it. I'm not an electrical engineer by any means and as a mechanical guy, only have a basic knowledge of electrical engineering principles.

So a quick rundown: When slotted into a motherboard the card does power on and the fan spins, but there is no video output. If left running for a little while (~1-2 min), the card will get rather hot as the fan spins up and the heat exhausted out the back is pretty substantial. This is a Dell OEM version of an Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, manufactured by MSI (very similar to the MSI 1080 Ti aero, but without branding). So it's close to the Nvidia reference / FE design, but probably with cheaper components hence the failure.

Here is a hi-res link of the front of the Founder's Edition PCB:
https://cdn.wccftech.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-1080-Ti-Founders-Edition-PCB_Front.jpg

Here's a link to the back side:
https://cdn.wccftech.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-1080-Ti-Founders-Edition-PCB_Back.jpg

I've probed around a little bit and found a few things, and I'll start with the "simpler" one on the back side. Here's an album of photos that I can eventually add to, as requested: https://imgur.com/a/MfsNS86