Author Topic: Any opinions on the AiXun T3A?  (Read 229724 times)

jbf and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Ungolian

• Regular Contributor
Re: Any opinions on the AiXun T3A?
« Reply #50 on: August 12, 2021, 01:16:55 am »
Thanks!  This all is important to point out.  I'm sure someone would look at that thinking "I've never done this before, but that mosfet is right on the edge of the board, I can get to it easy."  It really looks like the pads would line up.  I wasn't sure if bodging was recommended.

Offline wraper

• Supporter
« Reply #51 on: August 12, 2021, 08:53:02 am »
Why would you needlessly swap SO8 for D-PAK?  :palm:. First of all there is no need for replacement, it's good enough as it is. Secondly pinout does not match as G and S are on opposite sides. If you are really eager to swap, you can find something beefier in the same package, or in SO-8 FL, DFN8 5x6 which have similar dimensions but there are beefier devices available. Not to say AOD403 is a shitty upgrade to begin with. It has almost the same RDS(ON) as AO4413, therefore will heat up just as much under the same load. And trace fill area on the PCB which acts as a heatsink is the limiting factor here. FWIW AOD403 and AO4413 are more or less same MOSFET and higher current rating in the datasheet is mostly because D-PAK package can dissipate more heat. But it only matters if there is where to dump that heat, and there is not on this PCB. If you want replacement to provide any noticeable reliability improvement, it needs to have lower RDS(ON).  For example actual upgrade would be Si4497DY.
EDIT: As AO4413 has 25V max Gate-Source Voltage, it might be that circuit relies on that and ties the gate to GND through what looks to be a 1k resistor while MOSFET source is powered from 24V. There is 10K between G-S, so these 2 resistors form a voltage divider. But 20V will be exceeded nonetheless, and in that case Si4497DY is not suitable and many other MOSFETs with 20V VGS.