Author Topic: digital microscope  (Read 2206 times)

Offline CharlotteSwissTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
digital microscope
« on: September 08, 2021, 01:00:47 pm »

I would like to buy a digital microscope, I swear not to do the manicur but for electronic works  :scared:

When taking multimeter measurements on small cards, I usually use a mask with interchangeable lenses, but I don't like wearing that mask on my head. I would like a medium / low price range product, but I have no experience in this regard.
Some questions:
1) do they power via usb or do they have an AC adapter? (I would prefer AC adapter, not batteries for sure).
2) HD ok, but what magnification would be recommended for measurements / verification of welds on electronic circuits (also pitch 0.50)?
3) I see that the cheaper ones have a 4.3 '' display, it seems small to me, with 7 '' you can see well?
For example, I saw this in the Amazon

https://www.amazon.co.uk/VISLONE-Microscope-Rechargeable-Maintenance-Archaeology/dp/B08GFMKNP6/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

Could it be at least a sufficient product?

Thanks for any advice  ;)

Offline jpanhalt

• Super Contributor
Re: digital microscope
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2021, 02:23:29 pm »
I have never used an electronic microscope for anything except taking pictures.  My experience (50+ years, yikes) has all been with optical "dissecting" microscopes (image is not reversed).

Some points to consider:
1) Distance between objective (lens closest to object) and stage (where object would be).  Larger the better, generally.  This is the weakest point of optical scopes.  Mine is about 10 cm, which is adequate.   Although some (expensive)  optical scopes have a fairly large  distance.
2) You won't need a lot of magnification.  My optical scope has a 10X ocular (the part closest to your eye) and 0.9X objective.  That is more than enough for my electronics. In fact, I wish I could go lower and might look for a lower power ocular.