Author Topic: If you were buying a T12 or 210/245 today, which one would you recommend ?  (Read 9704 times)

Offline StueyBTopic starter

Bit of background,

Im a Mech Engineer so Electronics is not my area of expertise however I have got into it as a bit of a hobby by repairing some of my synthesizers at home.

I'm wanting to set myself up with a nice soldering iron and seperate hot air station. I've been using a Portasol Super 125 (dont laugh) as my iron which has been fine for through hole components but im wanting the ability to go down to 0805 / 2012 SMD components.

So i'm stuck deliberating the following stations:

Sugon T21 120w T115/T210/T245 + C470 compatability
Sugon T16 75w T12
Aifen A2 120w T115/T210/T245
Aifen A9 Pro 120w T115/T210/T245
Aixun T3A
Aixun T320 (the new model)

Im also thinking of going with the Hakko FX-888D or 951 (rip off price ATM though) for a bit more reiability.

I was set on getting a T3A or T3B but there seems to be a bit of drama with the T3A F/W & temp overshooting and grounding issue ?
The T320 looks attractive but its very new. This may not be a good thing.

As far as a hot air station goes I need to replace a 144-Pin LQFP DSP. I have a boatload of scrap boards for practice but would really appreciate pointers into getting set up with the right gear to make a good job (with practice) of changing this. I have access to a digital & analog microscope.

Any help to make an informed purchase would be greatly appreciated

Thanks all !

Offline thm_w

• Super Contributor
  • Non-expert
Re: If you were buying a T12 or 210/245 today, which one would you recommend ?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2023, 11:46:31 pm »
For a large 144 pin LQFP, you might consider a preheater. But if the board is very large that may not be possible, photo might help. So something with good wattage combined with a large square tip.
Many existing threads to read: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/reviews/hot-air-station-recommendations/