Author Topic: JBC soldering iron tip failed after 6 months of light use  (Read 4925 times)

Offline ampwizardTopic starter

• Contributor
JBC soldering iron tip failed after 6 months of light use
« on: December 06, 2019, 02:21:15 pm »
My JBC tip (C245944) stopped working after 6 months of sporadic use. The unit showed warning #2 (Open circuit. Check the tool.) and started working again after replacing the tip.

This seems like a VERY short lifespan to me. I contacted the company I bought the unit and tips from (Kaisertech in the UK), and they contacted JBC for me. The response was that the tips are considered consumables and don't come with a warranty. Apparently I should learn how to properly look after a tip so my tips may last longer. Let me say, I've been soldering for 20 years, previously used Hakko tips that lasted about 10 years, and always clean the tips with a wet sponge and tin them when I've finished working. I don't think I'm doing anything wrong.

What do you guys make of these JBC tips? Was my tip simply faulty (in which case it really should be covered by warranty) or do they all fail after 6 months?

Offline jonroger

• Regular Contributor
Re: JBC soldering iron tip failed after 6 months of light use
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2019, 03:29:50 pm »
General tip (not related to your issue) is to avoid a wet sponge and use brass wool.  Less thermal shock, less abrasion, less contamination (if not using deionized water).   Also flux is corrosive - minimize contact with the tip.
I am available for custom hardware/firmware development.

Offline Shock

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2019, 04:34:03 pm »