Author Topic: MASTECH HY1803DL POWER SUPPLY FAIL !!!!!  (Read 8118 times)

Offline ljasquiTopic starter

MASTECH HY1803DL POWER SUPPLY FAIL !!!!!
« on: August 09, 2011, 04:23:41 pm »
Here is my little rant about the power supply:

I think this PS has a design problem, because when I moved it to another place in my desk, plug it again and power on, the input jack short circuit with a screw that holds the transformer. Now it is stock in 37.2 volts and the voltage and current potentiometers does not change the value.  FAIL ¡¡¡¡¡

When I open it, trying to find a fuse, I notice the problem ….. and did not find any fuse  FAIL ¡¡¡¡¡

The “manual” is a 6 page explanation on how to use the PS, very obvious, but I was trying to find a schematic to repair it, with no luck. Third strike. FAIL ¡¡¡¡¡¡

I hope the readers can help me with any suggestion to make it work. I include some pictures. (I am not an expert electronic designer, but I can read a schematic and I can use a multimeter)

Thanks for looking and thousand thanks for any reply

Luis from Mexico

Offline saturation

• Super Contributor
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: MASTECH HY1803DL POWER SUPPLY FAIL !!!!!
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2011, 06:07:27 pm »
I read a complaint about this particular model, 1803D.  Given how sloppy the parts layout is from your pics, you'd really need to go through the boards and layout to look for issues.  Is this the way the unit is inside, you didn't disassemble the PCBs?  Pic12 there is a PCB near the bottom of the casing beside the AC socket, if AC in on that line, it can be very unsafe.

http://www.esawdust.com/blog/power/files/HY1803D.html

Look first for cold solder joints, like this fellow did. 

Have you looked at the AC inlet socket?  Most have built in fuse holders. 

FWIW, I have a Mastech too and I posted pics of its guts on another thread.  The construction is first rate, but yours pictured here requires some work.