Author Topic: Pace ADS200 soldering station  (Read 169136 times)

0 Members and 6 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline labjr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 248
  • Country: us
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #950 on: February 13, 2019, 03:04:50 pm »
Are people doing the firmware update on their units? Mine shows 1-2 (which I think is Rev B) and it looks like there is a 1-4 (Rev D). There is a photo someplace that shows the update if performed by swapping out a PLCC, probably microcontroller but I guess it could also be a memory chip. Is this for sale or offered via warranty anywhere? And is there a list of the changes/improvements?

ADS200 Firmware Update Rev 1-4 now available

Finally, I’m getting ready to send out a new “1-4” ADS200 firmware PLCC-44 chip. If you would like to try it out, free of charge, please send me a message with a good shipping address and email. Also mention if you need a Chip Puller to remove the PLCC, as I will provide that too. See the attached ADS200-chip-change.pdf file I have attached below for installation instructions. It's pretty straight forward.

The differences between Rev 1-3 (only sent to a few beta testers) and Rev 1-4 are minimal but the differences between Rev 1-1 or 1-2 are significant. The new firmware takes care of several nagging issues reported in EEVBlog:
  • The wacky display screen antics during initial heat-up: by changing some timing code, we were able to curtail the random screen updates that were occurring when you first turn the unit on. Apparently, the unit reacts better if it is not running 100% of wattage when it first turns on. Our engineer also claims the tips heat up faster, although I could not notice any discernible difference myself.
  • 5° Display Resolution is now 1°: The display will register in 1° increments rather than 5° increments now. When you set or view temperature, it will actually show the correct temperature e.g. 352°C or 353°C instead of 350 or 355°C. As a result, the display is much more reactive, meaning if you stick it on the sponge, it will drop a few degrees after 1 or 2 seconds. Before the display would just sit there, even though it was accurately reading the proper internal temperature.
  • ISB Instant Setback Tool Stand: The ISB can now be programmed to be truly “instant.” While the ADS200 has a default setting of 30 seconds before Setback starts, it can now be set in 1-second increments from “0” (instantly goes into Setback as soon as you place it in the stand) to 240 seconds. Before the minimum setting was 15 seconds.
Shipping to US customers is a breeze, but outside of the US may take more time as we have to gather customs paperwork, etc.

I think you'll like the changes in the ADS200, so message me if you want the new chip sent!

Best,

Aaron
 

Offline grantb5

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #951 on: February 13, 2019, 06:55:57 pm »
Thanks. That helped me find a link to the appropriate tech guy. I shall investigate:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/manufacture/newest-pace-ads200-production-station-(a-jbc-killer-at-$239)/?action=dlattach;attach=458980
 

Offline labjr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 248
  • Country: us
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #952 on: February 13, 2019, 07:41:15 pm »
Thanks. That helped me find a link to the appropriate tech guy. I shall investigate:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/manufacture/newest-pace-ads200-production-station-(a-jbc-killer-at-$239)/?action=dlattach;attach=458980

EEV generates bad links. Which is why I quoted his entire post instead of linking to the post.
 

Offline grantb5

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #953 on: February 13, 2019, 07:47:23 pm »
If you grab the whole URL you get the PDF with the email address of Tony who is the guy that will theoretically be acting on the firmware update requests.
 

Offline labjr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 248
  • Country: us
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #954 on: February 13, 2019, 07:58:24 pm »
Oh I get it. I just wish they'd fix that issue. I think special characters are interfering with whatever generates the URL.
 

Offline LightlyDoped

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: us
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #955 on: February 14, 2019, 08:57:49 pm »
I recently bought the Pace ADS200 with the Instant SetBack tool stand, and I may have discovered a bug in the current firmware (1-4) -- or perhaps the bug is in my cerebral cortex (which is still in beta).

The full instruction manual suggests setting a temp of 350 deg F for Preset 1 (to initiate a "Manual Temperature Setback"), so that the temp can be reduced quickly without having to wait for the setback timer to elapse. So I did this, and left all other settings at their default, including the instant setback temp of 350 deg F which is triggered 30 seconds after placing the handpiece in the stand.

When I pressed the black button to select Preset 1, it correctly triggered the 350 deg temp. However, if I then placed the handpiece in the stand and let the instant setback timer trigger the setback temp after 30 seconds, the temp dropped below 350 deg and kept dropping. It eventually dropped below 200 deg, at which point I pulled the handpiece from the stand and it returned to 350 deg.

It may be that Pace's suggestion to set Preset 1 to 350 deg was intended for stations without the Instant Setback stand. Without the Instant Setback stand, the default setting will trigger the setback temp after 30 minutes of inactivity. But for some reason, manually triggering a setback temp that was the same as the instant setback temp resulted in this strange behavior.

I've returned all settings to default, since waiting 30 seconds for the setback temp to automatically trigger is not an issue. Am I misunderstanding how these settings work?
 

Online Shock

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3438
  • Country: au
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #956 on: February 17, 2019, 03:38:13 pm »
...the temp dropped below 350 deg and kept dropping. It eventually dropped below 200 deg.

I had a play tonight and was able to confirm on firmware 1.4 the setback temp needs to be lower than the active preset. I assume it turns off the heating but didn't wait for it to go to room temp. I would say it's unexpected behavior but in a weird way having it in setback with no heating and being able to read the tip temp is kind of useful.

So either set Setback 350F, Preset 1 351F or Setback anywhere between 300-349, Preset 1 350F (if you like more rounded numbers for instance) etc for the "Manual Setback" and it should work fine.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2019, 03:41:54 pm by Shock »
Soldering/Rework: Pace ADS200, Pace MBT350
Multimeters: Fluke 87V, 117, 27/FM       >>> WANTED STUFF <<<
Oszilloskopen: Lecroy 9314, Phillips PM3065, Tektronix 2215a, 314
 

Online Shock

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3438
  • Country: au
Soldering/Rework: Pace ADS200, Pace MBT350
Multimeters: Fluke 87V, 117, 27/FM       >>> WANTED STUFF <<<
Oszilloskopen: Lecroy 9314, Phillips PM3065, Tektronix 2215a, 314
 

Offline arcticfox

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: gr
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #958 on: February 21, 2019, 04:19:53 pm »
Finally, I am another happy owner of the Pace ADS200 with ISB plus 5 Standard Blue Series Tips to get started.

I ordered it yesterday from Farnell export and I got it today. It took less than 18 hours..best price in Europe with a 15% off voucher + UPS free shipping!
The offer expires on February 22.

First impressions: It looks and feels so good and robust! It's built to last! those who talk about the construction they are damn right!  8)

Thank you everyone for your reviews, comments and knowledge. It helped me a lot in order to decide which soldering station to buy. no regrets!!!  :-+

member Shock, I really appreciate your help! some photos as I promised..
 
The following users thanked this post: Shock

Offline grantb5

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #959 on: February 21, 2019, 07:24:50 pm »
Score!  Good job.

Not sure I'm doing it right, but I had to reduce the amount of that gold colored brillo tip cleaner thing by about half to get it in the slot on the stand.  It didn't seem like two and it was tricky to evenly divide in half.

In other news, my firmware update 1.2 -> 1.4 arrived but I've been under the weather so no chance to do that yet.
 

Online Shock

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3438
  • Country: au
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #960 on: February 21, 2019, 08:43:21 pm »
First impressions: It looks and feels so good and robust! It's built to last! those who talk about the construction they are damn right!  8)

member Shock, I really appreciate your help! some photos as I promised..

No problem at all, nice to see you're all set to go. I've had mine for just over 6 months now, lost track of how many hours and couldn't be happier.

Not sure I'm doing it right, but I had to reduce the amount of that gold colored brillo tip cleaner thing by about half to get it in the slot on the stand.  It didn't seem like two and it was tricky to evenly divide in half.

I just squashed mine flat a little and then wedged them in, it doesn't matter though it will work just as well. Pace brass wool (1129-0018-P1) goes for about $3 or so.

Most of the time I prefer my stands to be out of the way as I have several of them. It's easier to clean tips in front of me so I use a cheap generic brass wool holder with the Pace wool (and throw out the Chinese stuff), pays to put tape around them to prevent the base coming off and spilling solder.

« Last Edit: February 21, 2019, 09:04:42 pm by Shock »
Soldering/Rework: Pace ADS200, Pace MBT350
Multimeters: Fluke 87V, 117, 27/FM       >>> WANTED STUFF <<<
Oszilloskopen: Lecroy 9314, Phillips PM3065, Tektronix 2215a, 314
 

Offline bsudbrink

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 406
  • Country: us
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #961 on: February 21, 2019, 09:23:34 pm »
I have several packets of that brass wool and I know I should use it... but I "grew up" on the damp sponge.  Somehow, I need the hiss of the hot tip touching the damp sponge.
 

Offline grantb5

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #962 on: February 21, 2019, 10:06:52 pm »
I have several packets of that brass wool and I know I should use it... but I "grew up" on the damp sponge.  Somehow, I need the hiss of the hot tip touching the damp sponge.

Same here. I'm a "sponger" and a "flicker" (to get rid of a blob).  I also have a Weller WTCPN (or whatever the all-in-one base station model # was in 1983) that I used until last year ... always with the sponging and flicking.  Changed a few tips and that's it.  Used very little water on the sponge and didn't drown my tip. Still works. Neighbor keeps wanting to borrow a soldering iron so I got myself the Pace and he can now borrow the Weller.

But I'm trying the brass wool thing. The kids are all over it.


 

Offline darik

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: us
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #963 on: February 21, 2019, 10:11:18 pm »
I have several packets of that brass wool and I know I should use it... but I "grew up" on the damp sponge.  Somehow, I need the hiss of the hot tip touching the damp sponge.

Same here. I'm a "sponger" and a "flicker" (to get rid of a blob).  I also have a Weller WTCPN (or whatever the all-in-one base station model # was in 1983) that I used until last year ... always with the sponging and flicking.  Changed a few tips and that's it.  Used very little water on the sponge and didn't drown my tip. Still works. Neighbor keeps wanting to borrow a soldering iron so I got myself the Pace and he can now borrow the Weller.

But I'm trying the brass wool thing. The kids are all over it.

They complement each other. I find the sponge is the way to go to get heavy oxidation off and get back to shiny and the wool is good for getting excess solder off. If one isn't fixing things, the other will.
 

Offline labjr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 248
  • Country: us
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #964 on: February 22, 2019, 12:08:10 am »
I've always used a sponge or the front of my jeans when in the field. Haven't used brass wool. That seems like trying to shower without water.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2019, 12:38:49 am by labjr »
 

Offline bsudbrink

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 406
  • Country: us
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #965 on: February 22, 2019, 12:14:40 am »
I've always used a sponge or the front on my jeans
You're a tougher man than I am.  :-DD
 

Offline joeqsmith

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7233
  • Country: us
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #966 on: February 24, 2019, 06:18:26 pm »
I've always used a sponge or the front of my jeans when in the field. Haven't used brass wool. That seems like trying to shower without water.

 :-DD :-DD I was a diehard sponge guy, mainly because that is how I always did it.  Once in a while I would use my finger tips or a tissue.   A few years ago I finally tried brass wool.  It's easier to maintain and seems to do a better job cleaning.  It's rare I will use a sponge anymore.   

****

We are almost into March.  Tweezers should be hitting the market any day now!!!!   

How electrically robust is your meter?? https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsK99WXk9VhcghnAauTBsbg
 

Offline grantb5

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 100
  • Country: ca
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #967 on: February 24, 2019, 06:35:20 pm »
In other news, my firmware update 1.2 -> 1.4 arrived but I've been under the weather so no chance to do that yet.

I did the update last night. One needs to swap a microcontroller in a socketed PLCC package. Extractor was supplied. New 1.4 firmware says Rev E on the label. No major dramas since I've done PLCC extraction before ... it takes a certain finessing even with an extractor. Serious torque on the screws that hold the front panel on. I would say that was the biggest surprise. :)  I took my time so maybe 15 minutes tops since I actually read the instructions (that were v1.1 to v1.2 by the way, so a bit out of sync with the actual update). Anyway, Bob's your uncle and I'm back in business except for this hellish cold.
 

Offline tooki

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6010
  • Country: ch
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #968 on: February 25, 2019, 11:38:15 am »
I've always used a sponge or the front of my jeans when in the field. Haven't used brass wool. That seems like trying to shower without water.
A better analogy is that it's like a squeegee, wiping off the gunk. First time I tried it, I was very positively surprised at how much better it is than the damp sponge. I really do suggest you try it!
 

Offline rigrunner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • Country: gb
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #969 on: March 01, 2019, 09:37:30 pm »
You lot are a bad influence!
An ADS200 turned up today :)

It must have been on Farnell's shelves  for a while. Firmware 1-2

Edit:

The top part of my hand piece stand is very wobbly. The screw at the rear seems to have had the threads destroyed :(

« Last Edit: March 01, 2019, 10:32:00 pm by rigrunner »
 

Online Shock

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3438
  • Country: au
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #970 on: March 02, 2019, 01:04:04 am »
You lot are a bad influence!
An ADS200 turned up today :)

It must have been on Farnell's shelves  for a while. Firmware 1-2
The top part of my hand piece stand is very wobbly. The screw at the rear seems to have had the threads destroyed :(

Cool, you will get to enjoy the difference between the 1.2 and 1.4 firmware plus have a spare :)

I have several of the stands and they are essentially the same base part across both Intelliheat and Accudrive stations, I recall one was a bit loose after being fully tightened.

It may seem like thread is stripped when it isn't so careful to avoid overly tightening or crossing the thread. If it is stripped the screw will freely turn forever under screwing force (rather than tightening force). If that is not the case do the following which worked for me.

With a good screwdriver try and back out the screw if you can, ensure the thread is clean and apply some wax or oil on the screws thread (this will make it easier to tell if tight is tight). If there is still a bit of wiggle add a washer under the screws head. It can be anything bit of card, plastic, loop of wire or few turns of solder might even work, or you can add a shim or washer between the two plates if that works better.

You are just trying to add a spacer so if the thread is biting it will allow the screw to have more purchase to pull the two plates together. See how you go.
Soldering/Rework: Pace ADS200, Pace MBT350
Multimeters: Fluke 87V, 117, 27/FM       >>> WANTED STUFF <<<
Oszilloskopen: Lecroy 9314, Phillips PM3065, Tektronix 2215a, 314
 

Offline rigrunner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • Country: gb
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #971 on: March 02, 2019, 01:18:52 am »
Took it apart earlier.
The screw itself is fine and full of shavings. The thread in the aluminium of the top half of the stand is completely chewed out. It looks like the assembly monkey was a bit too eager with the screwdriver.
 
The following users thanked this post: Shock

Online Shock

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3438
  • Country: au
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #972 on: March 02, 2019, 04:07:41 am »
Took it apart earlier.
The screw itself is fine and full of shavings. The thread in the aluminum of the top half of the stand is completely chewed out. It looks like the assembly monkey was a bit too eager with the screwdriver.

Just had a look at mine and seems an easy fix without going too OCD. Find a suitable nut for the screw (or replacement). To make it easier to install, put a dab of glue on the nut to fix it aligned with the hole on the inside of the top cover.

There is a nice flat surface for the nut to go against, the screw on the one I looked at seemed long enough to fit a washer and lock washer if you wanted to go all out. Now you can claim your station is fully modded. :D

Edit:

If you don't have glue you can also use tape to just get it started and hopefully the nut will self tighten under finger pressure. It's an old trick making captive screws by gluing, soldering, J-B welding etc (if that wasn't already obvious).
« Last Edit: March 02, 2019, 04:27:00 am by Shock »
Soldering/Rework: Pace ADS200, Pace MBT350
Multimeters: Fluke 87V, 117, 27/FM       >>> WANTED STUFF <<<
Oszilloskopen: Lecroy 9314, Phillips PM3065, Tektronix 2215a, 314
 

Offline rigrunner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 171
  • Country: gb
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #973 on: March 02, 2019, 04:32:57 am »
Yes, it's easy enough to repair. Either nut and bolt or re-tap to next thread size.

It's a shame to have to fix a brand new stand. The Base unit itself is put together so well.  :-+
« Last Edit: March 02, 2019, 04:35:21 am by rigrunner »
 

Online Shock

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3438
  • Country: au
Re: Newest Pace ADS200 station (tempting durability, and just over $200)
« Reply #974 on: March 02, 2019, 05:28:39 am »
Yes, it's easy enough to repair. Either nut and bolt or re-tap to next thread size.

It's a shame to have to fix a brand new stand. The Base unit itself is put together so well.  :-+

I'd just use a nut and the existing screw since its machine threaded. I tend to buy mostly secondhand gear that comes preloved unless it's unavoidable, so I can tell you time (and the right tools) heal all wounds :)
Soldering/Rework: Pace ADS200, Pace MBT350
Multimeters: Fluke 87V, 117, 27/FM       >>> WANTED STUFF <<<
Oszilloskopen: Lecroy 9314, Phillips PM3065, Tektronix 2215a, 314
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf