Author Topic: Playing with the Atten PPS3005S DC power supply  (Read 24053 times)

Offline bobskiTopic starter

• Contributor
Playing with the Atten PPS3005S DC power supply
« on: June 25, 2011, 07:30:35 pm »
I'm a noob here, but what the hey.
I'm starting a thread since doing this in someone else's classifieds ad seemed a little inappropriate. I posted this yesterday and updated it a few mins ago:
One of these arrived at my doorstep this afternoon... It seems to have a few issues that need re-engineering.
- The buttons are slow. If you just quick punch a button, you'll get no response no matter how hard you press. You have to slowly and very deliberately press the button to get the desired action. It really gets annoying when you're trying to move the selected digit over.
- The switch to constant-current is slow, or maybe there's too much filter capacitance on the output. If you set the supply to 10V, 10mA and (expecting the current limiter to do it's job) touch the output to an LED, you'll end up with a quick flash and one less LED in your parts collection.
- The fan is constant speed, always on, and it's distractingly loud.
- The zip ties keep things tidy, but for some reason I feel like the AC lines straight off the transformer shouldn't be bundled with the wiring for the DC regulators.

On the up side, the unit is controlled by an ATMEGA88PU running at 8 MHz and 5V. There's a nearby 6-pin header which may or may not be ISP (I'll have to trace the pins)... This is all visible in the pic. I tried swapping in a 16MHz crystal to see if that would help with the control responsiveness, but got no noticeable change in behavior what so ever. I wonder if someone forgot to set the fuse bits and the controller is running on its 1MHz internal clock.
The displays appear to be driven by a bunch of 74HC595D shift registers and a mess of SMD current limiting resistors. Low tech, but effective.