Author Topic: Problems with using shielded twisted pair for 24VDC power?  (Read 2432 times)

Offline RRRoamerTopic starter

Problems with using shielded twisted pair for 24VDC power?
« on: December 06, 2021, 03:07:26 am »
Folks,

I'm looking at getting a heat pump installed at my house that uses a communicating thermostat (specifically, the Lennox iComfort S30) that uses two pair of wires: 1st pair should be shielded (per manual) and 18 to 22 awg.  This is a flavor of RS485 I believe.  The 2nd pair is just 24VDC to power the system.  No mention of shielding or twisted pair for this cable.

Finding two twisted pair shield cables is pretty easy.  Finding one with a shield twisted pair cable and two other untwisted, unshield conductors is a bit harder.

So, the question is this: Is there any problems with running DC power (low power) through shielded twisted pair?  The only thing I can think of would be cost, but I am FAR from an expert.  The reason I am asking is I have seen people discussing issues with not using shielded cable for the communications pair and it sometimes causing problems.  I want to make SURE the correct cable is installed so I never have any issues down the road.  And no, I do NOT necessarily trust the contractors to install the correct cable correctly.  These are HVAC contractors after all that are still getting used to variable speed motors.

Thanks!

RRRoamer

Offline KaneTW

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Problems with using shielded twisted pair for 24VDC power?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2021, 03:39:11 am »
No, you can use whatever for DC as long as the cross section supports the current.

Offline bdunham7

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2021, 03:52:56 am »
Not to nitpick too much, but you shouldn't have 24VDC on that system.  There is 24VAC to power it and 12VDC in between units.  Twisted pairs will work fine for 24VAC and 12VDC, but I'm not sure you want them in the same physical cable without shielding in between them.