Products > Other Equipment & Products

S-993A desoldering pump review

(1/2) > >>

Skyfox:
Hi all,

Well, I finally pried open the wallet and splurged on an electric vacuum desoldering pump for myself.  I had a bunch of repairs planned on my Commodore 64 boards with removal of large DIP chips and bad sockets and knew the old red squeeze bulb wasn't going to cut it.  I just wanted to put up a bit of a review for anyone wondering whether they should give it a try, considering the reviews online are mostly positive with some negatives, and those aren't always helpful since they're usually no more than a sentence or two.  Do note that I've never owned a vacuum desoldering pump before so I have no experience to compare it to a Hakko or any other brand/model.

What I bought was the S-993A desoldering pump, easily found all over Ebay.  After 20+ years of using the red squeeze bulb desoldering thing, this pump is a million times better.  In under an hour I desoldered three 40-pin chips and another three 24-pin chips, which probably saved me a couple weeks worth of work with the squeeze bulb (and saved me a whole bunch of damaged pads and traces as well).  As with any old electronics it does require putting some fresh solder on the pins before desoldering, and as expected not every through hole sucks clean on the first try.  On a row of 20 pins, 2 or 3 will be stubborn and need to be resoldered and sucked out again.  For the most part the pins desolder cleanly and are either completely loose, or if a trace of solder remains it easily snaps free with a jiggle with tweezers.

You do have to keep up with cleaning and can't just put it away full of solder gunk, but it's quite easy to clean.  The reservoir pops off and disassembles easily, and what doesn't dump out can simply be brushed away with a small brush.  The vacuum seems to have plenty of suction, and as far as noise goes it's not much louder than an electric shaver.