Author Topic: Soldering Station: Hakko FX-100 vs JBC CD-B  (Read 3724 times)

Offline FourT6and2Topic starter

Soldering Station: Hakko FX-100 vs JBC CD-B
« on: September 11, 2018, 11:50:37 pm »
Great forum, lots of cool info!

Just popped in to see if anybody has any thoughts on these two stations? I'm not a beginner to soldering, but I've been using the FX-888D for a few years. I build guitar amps. So the majority of my work can be done with one or two chisel tips from about 1.6mm to 2.5mm or so. Anywhere in that range works. Don't need a bunch of other shapes and sizes to be honest. The ability to adjust temperature is a bonus. But most of the work can be done at around 725 degrees F or so. It's nice to be able to reduce heat when working on sensitive coax so the inner insulation doesn't melt and short the conductor to the shield. But it's also nice to bump the power up when soldering multiple components to one turret.

My budget is around the $500 mark and both of these stations with two tips fit. I don't really "need" a new station. The FX-888D works. But maybe I'm just bored and want to try something new because why not. Oh... wait... I just thought of a justification haha. Calibration. The FX-888D and other irons with a heating element need calibration and that's a pain. It's actually cheaper to buy a new FX-888D than purchase a tip thermometer to calibrate the unit if it goes out.

So it looks like a downside of these stations is that you need to change tips in order to change the temperature? But they heat up faster and maintain temperature under load much better? Already being a Hakko user, I'm leaning toward the FX-100. But I know JBC (and I guess Metcal) are all comparable? Just looking for any info I might be missing on why one might go with one over the other.

This is some of my work so you have an idea what I'm dealing with:

Offline LapTop006

• Supporter
Re: Soldering Station: Hakko FX-100 vs JBC CD-B