Author Topic: TS100 with battery power supply in automotive use  (Read 6782 times)

Offline murakumeTopic starter

TS100 with battery power supply in automotive use
« on: May 13, 2018, 06:28:51 pm »
Hi all, new member with questions! Have tried searching around for it, but the more specific you get with Google the more garbage it spits back out at you.

I'm an automotive technician, so while replacing hard parts is definitely more common, I do a good amount of wire repair and installation of everyone's favorite used car dealer technology: the starter interrupt. I've been using Snap-On butane irons for a few years, which are rebranded Weller P2KC irons. They aren't bad irons, but I'm tired of buying butane and always looking for alternatives to tool truck products. The igniter also doesn't hold up very long after daily use.

My main question has to do with the grounding issues I've read about for these TS100 irons. I'd like to pick one up and use it with a power bank that has DC output (like an Omnicharge 20, I don't have one but am looking at buying it) as a mobile solution. Using one in this configuration, do I need to be concerned with sending voltage through the tip to the various circuits I mess with every day? Most of these circuits are fused, but sometimes in wire repair you're dealing with a data line, 5v supply, ground supply, or what have you directly off of the control unit. Letting the smoke out of an expensive PCM or other control unit would pretty much negate any benefit of not needing butane and fighting to get and stay lit.