Author Topic: Where have all the DIY bench power supply kits gone?  (Read 20745 times)

Offline k_szeTopic starter

• Contributor
Where have all the DIY bench power supply kits gone?
« on: August 21, 2016, 08:57:16 am »
Dave said in his basic lab setup video that one can build their own bench power supply. He shows several examples in his video and they do look like kit builds.

But where can I find such kits nowadays? There are some kits on eBay, but none of them comes close to what Dave shows, in terms of specs, usability, or completeness, e.g.:
  • no multi-turn pot; instead, they have separate coarse and fine adjustment knobs
  • no voltage/current display;
  • board only, no enclosure provided;

The thing is, I'm a complete beginner and I don't have the knowledge to modify existing circuit designs, or to design and make my own enclosure. I need a project to get me started. Familiarising myself with reading schematics, and basic soldering skill is probably as much as I can do right now.

Am I expecting too much?
« Last Edit: August 22, 2016, 05:46:56 am by k_sze »

Offline MosherIV

• Super Contributor
Re: Where have all the DIY bench power supply kits gone?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2016, 05:02:33 pm »
Hi

I see you are in Hong Kong, so I do not know if Vellamen is distributed there.
The kits on ebay are aimed at hobbyiests wanting to usethe psus in a project hence no controls.

I mentioned Vellemen because I know they do psu kits with voltage control.
If you want a single multi turn voltage control instead of the course & fine, just replace the 2 potentiometers with the multiturn one, make it the same value as the course+fine or just the course.