Author Topic: 863-865MHz generation and detection  (Read 1109 times)

Offline Trotters_Independent2Topic starter

863-865MHz generation and detection
« on: June 26, 2022, 08:49:05 pm »
Hi all

A brief explanation of my background: I am experienced in working with microcontrollers and power electronics but I'm not experienced in high frequency electronics where I have to worry about transmission line effects. In the past I have studied things like impedance matching and reflections so I have a rudimentary awareness of these things but I have absolutely no practical experience.

What I am trying to do:

I am working on a home project which, in order to implement my idea, would involve detection of standing waves in the 863-865MHz frequency range along varying lengths of transmission line - I was thinking of making a germanium diode RF peak-detector/de-modulator probe in conjunction with my oscilloscope to measure them, like in this video:

But I am really not sure how to generate the wave:

I am not trying to transmit any information by modulating it - I only want to detect its presence. I don't want any more than 25mW of transmission power and I want to be able to operate it in a burst-mode. Where I would transmit for maybe 1-10 micro-seconds at a time. When I started on this idea, I envisioned being able to find a simple chip that would cost a few £ (perhaps with a configurable output frequency and power) which I could just pulse an enable line with a microcontroller and it would simply output the desired frequency in the "burst" fashion that I want. But I am struggling to find what I want.

Could anyone point me in the right direction? Is what I am trying to implement even realistic?

Thanks a lot
« Last Edit: June 26, 2022, 08:52:03 pm by Trotters_Independent2 »

Re: 863-865MHz generation and detection
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2022, 10:11:45 pm »
Thank you, very much appreciated. I shall have a look at these. :)

Offline Wallace Gasiewicz

• Super Contributor